These food-related sayings are from Eating Well magazine’s “Food Court” or “Last Bite” sections.  The lovely picture is a photo I took of the Ken Burris photo in the spring 2003 issue of the same magazine.  You can find more of Ken’s gorgeous food photos at kenburris.com/.  I’ve been thinking about food because tomorrow morning is the day I go to the farmer’s market and revel in the produce and other products of the day.  Yum!

Ken Burris photo from Eating Well spring 2003 issue

“A fruit is a vegetable with looks and money.  Plus, if you let fruit rot, it turns into wine, something Brussels sprouts never do.”
–P.J. O’Rourke, humorist

“You better cut the pizza in four pieces because I’m not hungry enough to eat six.”
–Yogi Berra, philosopher

“I put instant coffee in a microwave and almost went back in time.”
–Steven Wright, comedian

“A nickel will get you on the subway, but garlic will get you a seat.” 
–Old New York City saying  (Obviously some time ago!)

“Italians can appreciate a few black olives and a loaf of bread as a full meal.  Add a glass of wine, an orange, and a few friends, and it is a banquet.  Throw in a song or two, and it’s a feast.” 
–G.Franco Romagnoli and Gwen Romagnoli, from Italy, the Romagnoli Way:  A Culinary Journey (the Lyons Press, 2008)

“The kitchen is the most important room in the house; not only is it the stomach, but the heart and the spirit as well.” 
–Julia Child, quoted by her friend, James Beard

“I’m getting so old, I don’t even buy green bananas anymore.” 
–Chi Chi Rodriguez, golfer

“Burgundy makes you think of silly things; Bordeaux makes you talk about them, and Champagne makes you do them.”
–Jean Anthelme Brillat-Savarin, French lawyer and epicure

“A well made sauce will make even an elephant or a grandfather palatable.”
–Grimod de la Reynière (1758-1838)

“It’s like a big bug zapper.  Humans are attracted to the light.”
–Robert M. Einhorn, miami franchise attorney, on Krispy Kreme’s HOT NOW neon street sign that alerts passing traffic to a freshly made batch of doughnuts.

Comments
  1. Oh how wonderful, some I had heard before but some are new and sure gave a chuckle..the first one and then Jean Anthelme Brillat-Savarin..I got a chill just typing the name! LOL

  2. I love it when you talk food to me…. Like talking turkey to me, I gobble it up.
    Is Bill around, because I’m dying to call you a culinary cutie.
    And like the alcoholic said, a well made sauce makes everything palatable.

    I found these that I like too.

    “I cook with wine, sometimes I even add it to the food.”
    ― W.C. Fields

    “Ask not what you can do for your country. Ask what’s for lunch.”
    ― Orson Welles

    and for a serious note and for the sake of truth:

    “There are people in the world so hungry, that God cannot appear to them except in the form of bread.”
    ― Mahatma Gandhi

    (reprinted from:http://www.goodreads.com/quotes/tag/food)

    Randy

    • Those re good sayings, too, Randy. But don’t get too saucy or I may tell you to get stuffed! You may call me a culinary cutie as long as you don’t call me late for dinner. As for Bill, he may be lurking around or, more likely, working but will undoubtedly see all this so don’t be a chicken.

      And now, speaking of food, it’s almost 2 pm and I haven’t had lunch yet, a situation that needs to be remedied sooner rather than later. So what IS for lunch? (You told me to ask.)

  3. “A nickel will get you on the subway, but garlic will get you a seat.”
    I wonder how long ago was that, NYC subway is now about 3 bucks.

  4. I enjoyed them all, but especially Steven Wright.
    Scott

  5. I love the food quotes and the photo of the eggs is so pretty! What did you find at the Farmers’ Market?

    • It’s a photo of a photo. iPad is great! 🙂 This week I got apples, leeks, some fresh pasta, a few Christmas gifts and a cinnamon roll for my Saturday morning treat. My fridge was still pretty full, so that was it. Produce is winding down a bit, but there are lots of squash, which I’ve gotten the last few weeks, and other things.

      • How nice! Our Farmers’ Markets were done in October. Your cinnamon roll sounds delicious!!!

      • This market goes until the Saturday before Christmas, then opens again right after the beginning of the new year, indoors. It’s indoors until spring, when it goes back outside, so it’s open virtually year-round. I will really miss that when I move!! Here’s the link to the market site, which encompasses all the markets, http://www.northunionfarmersmarket.org/. The one I go to is at Shaker Square.

        And yes, the cinnamon roll is delicious. It’s become my Saturday morning treat. I get home, make some tea and settle with tea, cinnamon roll and a good book for a bit of a break. 🙂