Phoneography and Non-SLR Digital Photo Challenge: Nature…There’s a fungus among us.

Posted: October 6, 2014 in Phoneography Challenge
Tags: , , , , , ,

In France, mushrooms are beloved and eaten with gusto; even, such as in the case of truffles, revered, stolen, lied about and fought over.  You must know which are edible and which are not, but you may always take your finds to a pharmacy, where you will be informed as to which are are edible and which poisonous.  While taking the dogs for walks through the forest, we keep our eyes open for mushrooms but due to the atypical dry weather, all we’ve found are either old a/o dried out, or inedible.  However, they make lovely photo subjects.  Here are a few of today’s finds, unretouched except for framing and copyright.  You may look without fear of poison!

The first Monday theme for the Phoneography Challenge is “Nature.

“The sudden appearance of mushrooms after a summer rain is one of the more impressive spectacles in the plant world.”
~John Tyler Bonner

photo 1(122)

photo 3(93)

“Clothes I wear for mushroom hunting are rarely sent to the cleaner. They constitute a collection of odors I produce and gather while rambling in the woods. I notice not only dogs (cats, too) are delighted (they love to smell me).”
~John Cage, M:  Writings ’67-/72

photo 2(123)

“If only one could tell true love from false love as one can tell mushrooms from toadstools.”

~Katherine Mansfield
(Sorry to say that not even in France can the pharmacist can help you with that difference!)
Comments
  1. prior says:

    cool shrooms shots -and love the love connection at the end –

  2. Suzanne says:

    What great photos to take with a phone. The quote at the end really adds to the post. 🙂

  3. Do the pharmacy schools really teach how to determine good mushrooms from poisonous ones?

  4. Indira says:

    Photographs and quotes both are very nice.

  5. Such variety–and they are mesmerizing in their oddity. Strangely, I took a cluster of fungi on a tree stump in my garden. It’s a fancy one, and I almost posted it. They are such fascinating slices of nature. The first image is marvelous–the way the mushroom is balanced on one small edge of itself. Happy Photo Challenge. (Did not get a Pingback–just to let you know).

    • Fungi are so photogenic, don’t you think, Sally? For several of these photos, I turned the camera upside down to get a better and more interesting view,something I don’t always think to do.

      janet

  6. Su Leslie says:

    These are gorgeous photos Janet; I especially love the first shot.

    • Thanks, Su. I tried one from a bit above, which turned out a bit too normal and then inverted the phone for this one, which I like much better. Unfortunately, none of these were edible, but my s-i-l made pasta tonight with some edible mushrooms she found and it was quite tasty.

      janet

  7. That mushroom just came off the dance floor 🙂

  8. Amazing images, Janet. I adore mushrooms, but would never dare to try any wild ones.

    • Glad you like them. I wouldn’t try any unless I knew for sure they were OK to eat. We had some in pasta last night, though, and are still alive and well and had a delicious dinner to boot.

      janet

  9. Amy says:

    Fabulous captures, Janet!

  10. coolquilting says:

    beautiful shots…I especially like the delicate one in the third shot!

  11. livvy30 says:

    These are so pretty. I love the 3rd one.

  12. Incredible captures Janet! I feel almost as though I am there. Huge smiles.

  13. My father will not eat mushrooms, mushroom soup or anything he thinks might have mushrooms in it. He considers them all potential poison! Great shots. I am often finding interesting fungus specimens in our forest. You have inspired me to take photos of them next time I’m out for a stroll.

    • In France, all the pharmacists can tell you whether the mushrooms are poisonous or not. My s-i-l knows which ones are good to eat and we’ve been enjoying them greatly. Thanks for the visit and comment, Teresa.

      janet

      • My father is originally from Netherlands. No matter how often we tell him their safe it is a matter of not trusting! Ah well, at 87 he’s not likely to change.

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

