Seeing With My Heart (for dVerse)

Posted: October 30, 2014 in Poetry
Tags: , ,

IMG_6214

Seeing with My Heart

Driving away
eyes return compulsively 
    to the rear view mirror
        where mountains grow
             (Alice-like)
    smaller and smaller,
          sucked into the black hole of the flatland
while the hole in my heart grows exponentially.

They disappear.
No need to check again
    except for traffic.

Day of return
    the endless road 
           seems to      s   t   r   e   c   h     forever
    until the horizon swells
        into the peaks that fill 
             that hole once more,
the puzzle pieces of my life in place.    


Comments
  1. A very nice metaphor for much in the rear-view mirror, but also enjoyable purely for the images imagined!

    • Thanks, Hamish. There’s something about that mountains that for me puts that last piece in place.

      janet

      • Oh I think that s one of the things that makes you such an intereting person to chat to – your love and iunderstanding of nature, in particular mountains. I used to need mountains around me. These days I make do with pine forests and pretend I don’t need to get to a mountain peak, but a forest on mountain lopes just smells a whole lot different to one at sea or lake level! You really caught that mood well, was a great idea, that rear view mirror thing.

      • “That rear view mirror thing” was a real experience more than once when I lived in Colorado for several years in Steamboat Springs. It also happens each summer when we come back from Wyoming. I’m happy many other places, but the mountains are the place that touch my soul. However, my park, with it’s combination of prairie and forest, do a great job in the meantime. You’re right about a forest being different in different places. The easy explanation is that the variety of plants and trees is different; the additional bit is what you feel.

        janet

  2. Gabriella says:

    Places where we feel whole are rare and precious. It can be heart-wrenching to leave such a place and the return brings many joys. I like the perspective of the rear window. A wonderful photo too!

  3. brian miller says:

    there are def places that are so hard to leave…and when you return to them, fill that place for sure…coming home is always a warm feeling to me.

  4. billgncs says:

    yes, it’s always sad when the Big Horns become indistinguishable from the clouds in the distance.

  5. claudia says:

    there’s something majestic and soothing about mountains… i can imagine how hard it is to leave – esp. when you visited there since childhood… the mountains always make me breathe deeper…

  6. Great photo and post. šŸ˜

  7. M-R says:

    Truly excellent, Janet: you should’ve been showing us these long since !
    No matter; but don’t hide any more, OK ? šŸ˜€

    • Since I posted it right after writing, you can’t accuse me of hiding it, M.R. šŸ™‚ Of course the thoughts and feelings have been there since college, so… From someone who’s not into poetry (or is it just haiku), I take that as quite a compliment.

      janet

      • M-R says:

        Not into haikus, you’re right. I far prefer poets to do their own structuring – as you do so well.
        And I’m not into the standard of poetry largely seen on the ‘Net. Am always happy to see the good stuff.

  8. Your love of the mountains has become a part of you. Nice poem.

  9. There are beautiful external scenarios that we hate to leave, but then there are those internal ones we also travel to – which I suspect can be just as beautiful – and maybe just as brutal as those external ones in winter.

    Randy

    Keep adjusting the rear view mirror, but keep your eyes forward on the road ahead and your hands tight on the steering wheel for now.

    • Randy, my eyes are (almost) always ahead and I can be happy most places, so long as I have a bit of land and space so I’m not too closed in or suffocated by noise and “things.”

      janet

  10. So hard to leave such beauty behind. I loved reading this. šŸ™‚

  11. Mary says:

    You have really captured well the experience (and the sadness) of driving away from the mountains, of seeing them in the rear view mirror until they finally are there no more.

  12. vastlycurious.com says:

    Simply beautiful!

  13. Grace says:

    I can relate to the endless road stretching ~ The flatland looks scenic to my city eyes though ~ Have a good weekend Janet ~

    • Grace, I grew up in Nebraska and now live in the Chicago area, so I have nothing against the flatlands. They have their own beauty as does the desert or the water. The city has a beauty as well, but not the kind I want to be around constantly. Have a wonderful weekend, too.

      janet

  14. Glenn Buttkus says:

    I am blessed to live in Western WA state, hemmed in by the Cascades & Olympics. I live in the foothills of the Cascades, in the shadow of Mt. Rainier. I can be in the mountains, or at the ocean in 1-2 hrs. At 70 I need to live in the urban areas, near medical & entertainment centers, but when my brother & I grab our cameras, when Rainier is out of the clouds, & a choir of angels sing in the winds around the peaks, alls right with the world. Loved this take of yours on the prompt.

  15. Matt Spence says:

    Groovy piece. Love the last line.

  16. Justin Lamb says:

    Strong connection to the land, to home. I especially like the part about the view becoming smaller as the hole in the heart grows bigger. Great choice of words. I know that feeling as well.

  17. The reminds me of long two lane t-crossed and poled telephone ways of road of old.. before Interstate flow.. comes on my regional roads…

    Of course before life got so complicated i can never see past my brain.. and the nostalgia of those days.. of looking back and looking forward.. and seeing nature.. instead of words…

    you do delightfully capture here for me.. today.. in nostalgic flow of life!

    • Ahh, the two lane roads. Scenic but SO slow, especially if you got behind someone and there was no good room to pass. All our vacations as kids were on roads like that. Glad you enjoyed the poem.

      janet

  18. thirdeyemom says:

    Beautiful Janet! šŸ™‚

  19. It is like life…empty out and then refilled with the things that make us whole…just like mountains.

  20. Sumana Roy says:

    The word ‘mountains’ always takes me to the Himalayas where all bubbles of thoughts vanish into nothingness and only consciousness exists in an air of peacefulness…a lovely write…

  21. kaykuala says:

    There are certainly lots of anxiety and uncertainties in life that affect us.It might overwhelm but as long one gets one’s head above water that is enough! Great lines Janet!

    Hank

  22. It is hard not to keep looking back when moving forward, and some places are just plum hard to leave behind. This spoke that beautifully Janet.

    • Carrie, you’re right that it can be difficult to leave. I know I’ll be able to go back (God willing) each year, but I also try to hold on to the joy I found while there (or anywhere else I like.)

      janet

  23. vbholmes says:

    I like the way you contrast your emotions as you leave the mountains behind you and the impatient anticipation of your return. Well worded, Janet.

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

