Life as art…for dVerse

Posted: November 13, 2014 in dVerse, Poetry
Tags: , , , , ,

Victoria for dVerse sets this challenge:

“For today’s prompt, I invite you to pen a poem that uses something related to an art technique as a metaphor to deliver your message. And I double-dog dare-you to include a photo of your own work in whatever medium you play with.”

Here’s my response.

Making of each day
Imagine, cut, heat, bend, solder
Colors of your life

IMG_0088

I took a class in stained glass many years ago and came away with this one creation.  These days my art is in photography and words, but this one piece still makes me happy.

 

Comments
  1. Justin Lamb says:

    A short poem but an effective one. Nicely said.

    • Thanks, Justin. One of the things I like about haiku is that it makes you concentrate and distill your words to get the most out of each one. I’m glad it worked.

      janet

      • Justin Lamb says:

        For sure. I like haiku and I like tanka a lot as well, for the same reasons you mentioned.

        On a side note, thanks for the kind comment on my drumming poem. I have worship practice tonight too. Should be a fun evening for both of us!

      • It will be. This is the time of year that we get to do extra music and the beautiful music of Christmas. I love it!!!

  2. Stained glass has always been magic to me as the colors of light do poetically filter through..

    And that was GOD to me..

    more than words alone.. in church..

    as the color of GOD’s light is more beautiful than..

    any word alone.. as beauty IS GOD.. in Mother Nature True..

    And when we enhance it with ART we Co-create with GOD..:)2!

  3. Suzanne says:

    Very clever – do you make stained glass?

  4. claudia says:

    the colors of life… beautiful…and oh i love stained glass… amazes me again and again and i stand with an open mouth in each church and look at those windows…how they tell whole stories…how the light breaks… the vibrancy of color…very cool artwork by you as well janet…

  5. ChristineR says:

    I’ve had a thing for stained glass ever since my “Pollyanna” Golden Book. I was about 5 before I ever set foot in a church and the stained glass windows just struck me dumb with awe. I once did a weekend workshop and came away with one small panel. I never took it up for a hobby, though, cutting glass sort of scares me. Thanks for the prompting this memory. 😀

  6. I think glass in itself has many properties of life itself.. translucent still giving that color that is like the facade we want to show.. behind we can still hide things just showing faint shadows of our hearts… hmmm a metaphor that could carry far.

  7. I love stained glass! The poem is a great metaphor. 🙂

  8. vandana says:

    and these everyday colours make the painting of life!!

  9. Sabio Lantz says:

    I really enjoy that stain glass piece too — and nice verse to accompany: imbibing meaning through simple rich steps.

  10. I took a class many years ago and I have once piece too – a lily. Love yours.

  11. This is one art form that I really love and would love to have tried………(I know, but no time! no time!) Your piece is beautiful and your poem perfection. Loved both.

  12. Glenn Buttkus says:

    Stained glass artists & sculptors have always fascinated me, their expression so grandiose, so far beyond the purview of most of us; your haiku & artwork are delicious; nice take, nice job.

  13. So many of us chose life metaphors. You captured it in so few words. Perfect–and love the stained glass.

  14. Beautiful work and I love the verse you gave it. It really suits it. 😀

  15. Very nice stained glass artwork … you should be proud … it’s great. Love the poem that you’ve written to go with it. 😎

  16. Haiku is most fitting here, very well done.

  17. Kathy Reed says:

    Stained glass as a metaphor is a great one..the light shining through gives a peaceful yet joyous feeling ..nice.

  18. billgncs says:

    I have always loved Stained glass, I secretly hope to to have a window that was once in a church.

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

