Baby, I’m-a Want You (Bread)…for dVerse

Posted: December 17, 2014 in dVerse, Food, Poetry
Tags: , ,

Grace, at dVerse, challenges us to write a poem about bread, whether real or as a metaphor for something equally important and delectable.  I offer you my paean to a simple substance that has sustained humans for many delicious years.

IMG_0545

In a world of carb-avoiders and bread-deniers,
I remain staunchly one who,
   when a loaf or roll is ready for the knife,
   cannot contain myself until the topping
   (butter, jam, honey)
   is ready before diving in
   to that first glorious bite!

Sometimes I crave bread 
   the way an addict craves drugs,
   needing it,
   dreaming of it,
   salivating for it.
No sugarplums dance through my head
   but crusty loaves,
   the aroma surpassing that of the costliest perfume.

Years ago,
   when our girls were young,
   we bought a bread machine,
   that first loaf, 
   by my husband’s reckoning,
   a costly one at $250 plus ingredients,
   the next, half that price.
And so it halved
   until a crusty French bread,
   not taken out and shaped to a baguette
   but tasting just the same,
   simple water, flour, salt, sugar, and yeast turned into edible paradise,
   tallied a mere twenty cents or so.

Ingredients placed into the machine the night before,
   we wakened to that blissful scent for months,
   until that dark day when our senses
   (now accustomed to the smell)
   no longer registered its fragrance 
   and we were left, beggered, with mere taste.

Comments
  1. Amy Reese says:

    I want bread…NOW! Yummy. I could live on good bread alone, Janet. But a little wine to go with would be nice, too. 🙂

  2. Sandra says:

    Mmmm, bread. Double mmmm for French bread. I like their boules, what was your favourite Janet?

  3. Suzanne says:

    Lovely hymn to bread – I can also most smell that fresh baking aroma. I also really like the way you have presented your poem so that it looks like and old typewritten piece of paper.

    • Glad you enjoyed the poem, Suzanne. I can’t claim credit for the presentation, though, as with my WP blog, the only way I know of to keep formatting also puts that background behind the words. I’d love to be able to put out a poem without the background, but have no idea how to do it or if it’s even possible.

      janet

      • Suzanne says:

        It is hard to format poems on WordPress I agree. I like the effect you achieve even if it isn’t entirely what you want. 🙂

  4. Grace says:

    Nothing beats the smell of fresh crusty warm bread and that first bite ~ I never had nor thought of buying a bread machine as there’s a nearby bakery near our house ~ Thanks for joining in Janet ~

    Have a good week ~

    • Good morning, Grace, or at least it is where I live. There are many more bakeries now than there used to be and even grocery stores often have wonderful bread. But making it at home, whether by hand or by machine, has a special magic to it and, on a more prosaic level, costs much less and you always know what’s in it. 🙂

      Have a blessed Christmas,

      janet

  5. brian miller says:

    nice…we have one of those machines as well…love to wake up to that smell…and I love the home made bread better than store bought…I def could not get rid of all my carbs…I have limited them in the past…but they are so good…

  6. claudia says:

    i could never live without bread… it’s just too good…and i used to bake our own bread when the kids were small… not with a machine but just kneading the dough by hand and putting it in the oven… it’s divine… i have to start baking again i think after reading your poem… so addictive…

  7. Delightful…can just smell that warm fresh baked loaf…and the lingering bitterness of those who will not indulge!

    • So good to hear from you this morning! I hope you’re having a wonderful pre-Christmas season!

      I can understand the gluten-intolerant not indulging and I know some people who just can’t control their carb intake, so they avoid them as much as possible. But for the rest of us, bread is something wonderful and full of memories and meaning.

      janet

  8. MarinaSofia says:

    Boo-hoo, you reminded me of my bread-maker, which we left in our loft in the UK, because we thought that coming to France we wouldn’t need to make our own bread. True, the boulangerie is only a short walk away, but that smell in the morning… oh, yes, I understand you perfectly (and hope you get to replace it). I love the irony in the opening lines too – I couldn’t live without bread either!

    • Marina, you’ll be happy to know that I’ve been making bread again, not as often, but the smell is back!! 🙂 If that scent could only be bottled, it would pull in more men than Chanel #5!

      janet

  9. Glenn Buttkus says:

    Makes me want to rush out & purchase a bread machine. Like the smells of bacon or coffee in the morning, fresh bread can bring the smile. Our poems had a similar feel to them; cool.

  10. I share your relationship with bread…and now, I’m hungry. We had a Bread Machine but could never quite figure out how to accommodate our high elevation so that we had loaves that could serve as paperweight. Oh, but now, I am hungry.

  11. Mary says:

    Really there is nothing as good as the smell and taste of GOOD bread. Never have had bread made with such a bread machine, but how wonderful it must be to wake up to the smell of bread in the morning!

  12. Gabriella says:

    I owned a bread machine for a while and had lots of fun with it. I loved the idea of putting everything in the container and waking up to a ready loaf the next morning. I had forgotten this brief period.

  13. Bread and it’s smell is the best perfume.. and I can’t live without eating it.. We have never had a bread-machine.. but have baked in periods all the same.. and that smell mmm.. I think this weekend I will bake..

  14. Joseph Hesch says:

    Oh, my! The Bread (band) allusion brought me back to the crusty long ago. Your final verse, speaking of our becoming inured even to the magical aroma of bread, a special something, saddened me with its truthfulness. But the overall work made me glad to find you.

    • I was wondering whether anyone would catch that title allusion, Joseph. It just fit so perfectly that I couldn’t pass it up. I’m so pleased you found me and I was glad to find you as well.

      janet

  15. Kathy Reed says:

    Makes me want to try it again, too…but I wouldn’t want to get too used to the aroma I wouldn’t notice it 😉

  16. I love how you ran with the prompt! Great images!

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

