Weekly Photo Challenge: New…a new life

Posted: January 2, 2015 in Weekly Photo Challenge
Tags: , ,

It’s 2015 and time for the first Weekly Photo Challenge of the year.  Today’s theme is “New“, perfect for the start of another year.  As my husband’s job is finished just after the middle of this year, it will be a year of many new things for us, symbolized in this photo by the two rings: an older, turquoise one I’ve been wearing for some time and a new (Christmas gift), Irish ring, symbolic of our two lives together.  The ring is to be worn so that the bottom of the heart faces the wearer, indicating the she is “taken.”

IMG_0780

Comments
  1. suej says:

    What lovely rings!

  2. Sandra says:

    Beautiful rings, Janet.

    • Sandra, I can’t wear my wedding and engagement ring anymore (knuckles just a shade too large now) and I may try to have them made into another ring. But I love wearing these two “stacked” on my ring finger.

  3. Ese' s Voice says:

    Both are really beautiful, Janet – so special&meaningful to wear as well as spot on for today’ s prompt!

  4. I love the Claddagh ring. It symbolises so much. Great photo of the two rings. 😀

    • I tried taking a photo with them on my hand but couldn’t do it. 🙂 I have a fair bit of Irish jewelry and since there’s an Irish store in downtown Naperville, it’s always tempting. Of course, a trip to Ireland would be more fun, but I’m not complaining.

      janet

  5. thirdeyemom says:

    Beautiful entry for the challenge Janet! Sounds like the new year will be filled with new adventures. 😃

  6. I guess you could say you’re “ringing” in the New Year.
    (Sorry — I haven’t had a chance to use a good pun in ages and just couldn’t resist.)

  7. Janet, I’m so touched by your response to this week’s photo challenge. Almost…can’t find the words to say how much I love the meaning of this message. Heartfelt thanks to you.

  8. Janet-
    I love this post. Claddagh rings are so pretty and symbolic. Thinking about love, loyalty, and friendship at the beginning of a New Year are the perfect topics to contemplate, don’t you think?
    The things resolutions should be made of.
    ~Jane

  9. slvrhawk2014 says:

    This is such a beautiful picture!

  10. They are a lovely pair. New things to come for y!ou – exciting

  11. Suzanne says:

    I love the symbolism of your second ring and the turquoise one is beautiful. All the best for the coming year. I hope the changes you are expecting go smoothly for you.

  12. nowathome says:

    these rings are stunning!

  13. Wishing you the happiest of New Years, and many other joyous new things to celebrate. 🙂

  14. KG says:

    Lovely 🙂 and A Very Happy New Year to you and yours Janet.

  15. Tina Schell says:

    Lovely photo Janet! Here’s to your new, post-job adventure!!

  16. estelea says:

    Love the rings and their symbols 🙂 Happy New Year!

  17. jamilamimi says:

    great shot! and i love the rings and each meaning 🙂

  18. Hopeje says:

    Lovely all best and luck in this new year…

  19. galeweithers says:

    Beautiful rings and a beautiful story. Good luck and may 2015 be all that you hope it will be!

  20. Mary says:

    Those are gorgeous. I like them together especially.

  21. […] Discoveries and Places! My Photo: A View over Iceland J. PicksWeekly Photo Challenge: New This, that and the other thingWeekly Photo Challenge: New…a new life enjoytowriteWeekly Photo Challenge – New Cee’s PhotographyWP Weekly Photo Challenge: New […]

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

