Friday Fictioneers: Get Your Kicks (a romance in 100 words)

Posted: January 7, 2015 in Friday Fictioneers
Tags: , ,

It’s the start of a new year, a year filled with opportunities, including the opportunity to write flash fiction once a week.  If interested, join the authors at Friday Fictioneers.  The photo prompt is posted in the wee hours (if you’re in the U.S.) of each Wednesday morning and you may post your story until the end of the following Tuesday.  Of course, you’re free to simply read, if you prefer not to write.

This week’s photo prompt is from Jean Hays and copyrighted to her.  My story follows. Other stories are linked by clicking on the little link critter at the end of the story.  Like the snowflakes driven by the winds that have pushed our windchills into the too-much-below-zero range this week, my story is light, something to hopefully bring a smile to your face to start the new year.

Begin the Route

Get Your Kicks (a romance in 100 words)

The heady aroma of dark roast tickled her nose, her thoughts floating up with the scent. She was tired of being alone, of only finding losers. She stared out the window…

and there he was, standing on the sidewalk, looking lost. Drop-dead gorgeous, not too tall, built, but with gentle eyes, just what she’d been looking for all her life.

Go for it, girl! Abandoning her brew, she rushed out, approaching slowly, not wanting to be pushy, but not wanting to lose him, either.

“Hey there, good-looking. Are you lost? May I help?”

Tail wagging, his nose nudged her hand.

Comments
  1. I love the twist at the end, really put it all in a new perspective.. but I guess there was a dog-owner somewhere.. Glad to see you back writing here, it’s been a while.

  2. Sweet surprise. Cold noses and warm hearts. Nicely done.

  3. Great, I love the surprising end :o)

  4. You got me! At least we know her heart won’t be broken. I love to read the diversity of stories on FF generated by one particular photo.

    • Barbara, it will only be broken if there’s an owner in the picture somewhere, but I don’t think there is. Yes, the diversity of FF is astonishing and always fun. Thanks for stopping by to warm the frigid morning with your comment.

      janet

  5. Ese' s Voice says:

    Love the twist, Janet! The best kind of romance that really made me smile. 🙂

    • I’m smiling at your comment, Ese. I’m not a fan of cheesy romance, but I thought I’d spoof it just a bit and have some fun leading everyone down the romantic garden path.

      janet

  6. She made a wise choice. Thanks for the morning chuckle, Janet.

  7. Sandra says:

    Lovely story Janet, and lovely to have you back. I really enjoy a tail with a dog on the other end. Only yesterday though, someone abandoned a poor dog, tied to a railing in a Scottish railway station, with a suitcase containing his belongings. There was a terrific video of him at the dogs home, really making a fuss of the kennel attendant, undeterred by his recent experience of human nature.

  8. elmowrites says:

    Aww, Janet, you got me! I stumbled a bit over “built” in the description – should it be well-built? But otherwise, you had everything in place to set me up, and then have me fall in love just as your character does. Great stuff! I’m so glad I’ve decided to read all my favourite writers this week; so far it’s paying off in spades (I normally use a sort of random-number-generation to read a selection of the stories, so I get who I’m given as it were)

    • Jen, you made my day by including me with your favorite writers, so thanks for that. As for “built” vs. “well-built”, the former is slang for the latter, but used more often these days. Dictionary.com says:

      “built
      adjective

      Physically well-developed, esp in a sexually attractive way; hunky, stacked: She wasn’t especially smart, but she was built.”

      I’m glad you fell in love, too. I guess it puts falling in love with a real dog a whole new, and better, meaning. 🙂

      Keep warm and enjoy your day.

      janet

  9. Oh, Janet. Sometimes a dog’s better company anyhow.

  10. You had me fooled! Dogs are great company (if a lot of work). But I bet this feller is going really enrich her life.

  11. Hah! I completely fell for this, as she fell for him. Nice!
    Claire

  12. Well then, ok.
    I imagined June Lockhart and Lassie by the end.
    Randy

  13. penshift says:

    Damn, seems it would be easier to be a dog! I think I. Disturbed the building with my laughter at the end.

    • Hey, that’s a great compliment, disturbing the building with your laughter. Thanks! But if there’s a good-looking man at the end of the leash of the good-looking dog…

      janet

  14. rheath40 says:

    Recently this happened to me, and I couldn’t be happier. Eddie seems quite pleased too.

  15. Dear Janet,

    My guess is that he’s a Pit Bull. Sounds like my kind of guy if I were in the market for one. 😉 A happy story to begin the new year. I enjoyed this one very much.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  16. Oh my! You seized my heart with that last line. Love it!

  17. wolfsrosebud says:

    really made me smile… great surprise at the end

  18. Oh, my. First I thought she was a “hussy” and she turned out a dog lover. Surprise! Well done.

  19. That was pretty sneaky, Janet. 🙂 I can see from the comments that I’m not the only one to get fooled. Great story.
    -David

  20. I was poised and ready to give you the “what for” when she abandoned that brew. I mean, come on! Well, then that last line happened and all is right again in my world. Wonderful setup and surprise ending. I look forward to reading more of your work!

    Chris

    • Thanks very much, Chris. I’m really happy I didn’t destroy your world, especially the world of someone who shows a future softball player as a gravatar. That from someone who grew up playing shortstop in fast pitch softball.

      janet

  21. plaridel says:

    i got a kick on this one. i was led astray, but didn’t mind it at all 🙂

  22. Margaret says:

    I like your romantic story – she’s going to find true happiness with that handsome stranger, I can tell. Really nice build-up to the surprise end. (And yes, we did have a similar line of thought this week.)

  23. Indira says:

    Lovely Janet. At last she found a true loyal companion. Loved the build up and surprise.

  24. draliman says:

    Aw, nice twist at the end, made me smile 🙂

  25. dmmacilroy says:

    Dear Janet,

    Heartwarming and uplifting, your sweet story of new love had me hooked right from the beginning and all the way through the perfect (I should have seen it coming) ending. Your work on this was masterful and playful at the same time. Well done.

    Aloha,

    Doug

  26. babso2you says:

    What a lovely romance!

  27. rgayer55 says:

    Lucky dog! I hope it doesn’t turn out to just be puppy love.

  28. I do love this one. Not too much chance of getting a no-good scoundrel here. Those little guys with the wagging tails and cold noses know how to do love right. Very nicely done, Janet, with the surprise fully intact right up to the final line.

  29. Delightfully charming, Janet. I was all prepared to lecture her: This is why you keep finding the wrong guy! One more sad sack… but, this time may be completely different, I think. 😉 Love the way this made me smile.

  30. Jan Morrill says:

    Aw! You KNOW I love this one! Very sweet!

  31. Oh Danny Boy says:

    Caught me by surprise. Loved the ending.

    DJ

  32. Amy Reese says:

    He sounds perfect! I bet he would be fun to cuddle with, Janet. Sweet story to bring in the new year.

    • I think he’s perfect for her, Amy. Oh, that all homeless animals could find someone to take them in and that owners would be much more mindful about getting and keeping pets.

      janet

      • Amy Reese says:

        We took in a stray, a big orange cat! It took him months to warm up to us, but now he is part of our family. He’s such a sweetie and a softie! He probably wouldn’t have found a home at the pound because he’s older. So, I’m so happy.

  33. pattisj says:

    When I read “looking lost,” dog came to mind. I hope she has found true love that lasts!

  34. What a lovely story Janet, and perfectly crafted. Who could resist the lost look and gentle eyes and …. wagging tail 🙂

  35. lindarigsbee says:

    HA! You got me! Cute.

  36. […] Friday Fictioneers:   Friday Fictioneers provides an opportunity to write flash fiction once a week.  This week’s photo prompt is from Jean Hays and copyrighted to her.  Other stories are linked by clicking on the this hyperlink. […]

  37. […] Friday Fictioneers:   Friday Fictioneers provides an opportunity to write flash fiction once a week.  This week’s photo prompt is from Jean Hays and copyrighted to her.  Other stories are linked by clicking on the this hyperlink. […]

  38. Alice Audrey says:

    You got me with the last line.

  39. Dee says:

    Hopefully a happy ending for both of them.

  40. Really cute story, Janet. Looks like the doggie has found a good home. Great twist at the end. Well done. 🙂 — Suzanne

  41. Oh, you got me there. At first I thought, why does he have to be gorgeous, but he really couldn’t be anything less, could he? Lovely, just lovely.

  42. Nan Falkner says:

    Dear Janet! I love it – a dog. What a wonderful ending to a cute story! Thanks for the uplift! Nan 🙂

  43. Michael B. Fishman says:

    What a sweet story! Romantic fiction isn’t my thing so when I read that I almost passed you by but I’m glad I didn’t. Thank you for putting a smile on my face and making my day today! 🙂

    • Completely my pleasure, Michael. Thanks for taking your courage in your hands and reading the story. If I make one person’s day with something I write or photograph, I consider it a rousing success.

      janet

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

