Phoneography and Non-SLR Digital Devices Photo Challenge: Black and White…skin

Posted: January 19, 2015 in Phoneography Challenge
Tags: , ,

Sometimes ordinary things look extraordinary when photographed and, in this case, rendered in black and white.  The shapes of the curled cucumber skin take on an entirely different look as does the grain of the cutting board.  One of the joys of phone photography is having the camera always nearby and ready for a photo, although the skins, unlike some things found in a kitchen, aren’t going anywhere or morphing into something else as I try to capture them.

The Phoneography and Non-SLR Digital Devices Photo Challenge is open to anyone who takes photos with a non-traditional camera.  The themes repeat and go live every Monday.  Feel free to join us by clicking on the highlighted link (highlighted after Sally puts up her post, so check back if it’s not highlighted yet) or click on the link simply to enjoy more photos be talented photographers.

IMG_0566

Comments
  1. Suzanne says:

    Wow – that’s quite incredible. I would never have guessed what it is.

    • Without the color, it’s much more difficult to get an idea of what’s there. When I change photos to B&W, it’s always interesting to see what the result will be and which ones come out the best.

      janet

  2. Marvelous–great subject and well executed. Really enjoyed the abstract quality of the composition. Happy Photo Challenge.

    • Good morning, Sally. I find it interesting when trying out various photos for black and white to see which ones are the most interesting. In this case, as with you, I thought abstract quality (with no green color as a giveaway) made it different and interesting.

      janet

  3. pattimoed says:

    Wow, Janet! I would have never guessed this was a cucumber! You are right–the black and white highlights textures that I would have never noticed in color. Great!–Patti

  4. very nice rendering. Randy

  5. Very provocative and meaningful title being that it’s Martin Luther King Day!
    Good eye for noticing the shine and shadows of the compost. Wow!

  6. Angeline M says:

    Janet, this is fabulous. The curly cues of the peels, and the grain from the cutting board are brilliant!

  7. I love this photo. It gives a really different view of something so ordinary. Great job. 😀

  8. Tiare Meegan says:

    Fabulous lighting, great shot!

  9. It is stunning what you did here. One can hardly imagine it comes from a mobile camera. Kudos.

    • Good morning, Lucile. I’m thrilled you like the photo so much. I got my first smartphone just over a year ago. It’s an iPhone 5s and we chose it largely because of the camera. Although when I started my blog, I had some photos from a small camera, most of them were taken with my iPad until I got the phone which is, of course, much easier to carry around. 🙂 Almost every photo on the blog since December of 2013 was taken with my phone.

      janet

      janet

      • Good day, Janet!
        You deserved my compliments!
        I have an iphone5 and know that the 5s and 6 have the same higher quality camera.
        It is really good quality. Be proud!
        Looking forward to seeing more photos from you.
        Best,
        Lucile

  10. yprior1 says:

    “Sometimes ordinary things look extraordinary when photographed…”
    the quote of the month for moi

    and your skins look cool – I also like to snack on those bad boys

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

