Phoneography and Non-SLR Digital Devices Photo Challenge: Nature…waiting for spring

Posted: February 2, 2015 in Nature, Phoneography Challenge
Tags: , ,

Welcome to February, the shortest month of the year, yet one where (thankfully) the days are getting longer and the nights shorter.  “February” comes from the Latin term februum, which means purification.  I laughed to read that January and February were the last months to be added to the calender, as the Romans considered winter a month-less season.  It may feel like that to us sometimes as well. But don’t despair–spring is around the corner somewhere.

This is for all of us waiting, patiently or not, for spring; waiting for new life, for rebirth, for the hope that is found in the beginning of seasons (whether of life or nature); for those who see only drab, dull colors or feel that their lives reflect those colors.  Rejoice!  There is life, there is hope, there is spring, there is color.  It’s just underground, waiting for the right moment to emerge.

For more entries in this week’s Phoneography Challenge, head over to Sally’s blog.

IMG_4151

Comments
  1. ChristineR says:

    Beautiful image. You’ve captured the flower pod at the right moment, bursting with the promise of glory, yet still retaining its poddish look.

  2. Suzanne says:

    What a lovely image – so hopeful and joyous.

  3. Beautiful shot. I loved the post. Very interesting information as well as your take on it. Thanks.

  4. Honie Briggs says:

    I snipped early blooming daffodils yesterday and brought them in before last night’s freeze. Their fragrance is mild and sweet in my kitchen this morning. I can hardly wait until Spring.

  5. Wondrously beautiful image.
    And I learned something new about February – purification – and winter being a monthless season. Very interesting. Randy

    • I didn’t know about the monthless winter either. Interesting way of looking at a time that you might not like as much as the rest of the year, don’t you think? We don’t name it, therefore it does not exist.

      janet

  6. Yes, yes, yes, I am encouraged by the turning of the calendar. We must have Spring in our hearts and minds. Thanks for the lovely budding flower; it’s a reminder of more to come. Happy Photo Challenge.

  7. Paula says:

    This burst of colour is really convincing 🙂 Winter is not that bad either (when it behaves 😉 )

    • Paula, I like winter but wasn’t thrilled with another round of heavy shoveling after three yesterday. That being said, the Chicago area gets much less snow than the Cleveland snow belt where we lived before. No matter how much snow, there comes a times when bright flowers are appropriate and necessary.

      janet

  8. Love this! Thanks Janet!

  9. Amy says:

    What a beauty you have captured, Janet! Love the sign of spring. 🙂

  10. LavendarLadi says:

    Ah HA I thought it was a poppy just peeking out. I love that moment when you get a glimpse of the beauty to come.

  11. belocchio says:

    What a joy – this harbinger of spring. This winter no snow where we live in the lower mainland of British Columbia. My oriental poppies continued to grow all winter but it will be weeks before they show any colour.

  12. Lovely photo. Great DOF

  13. Nice. My spring, however, is buried under about 3 1/2 feet of snow so far. 🙂

  14. Angeline M says:

    Lovely pop of color for those in places with so much snow. I hope you don’t have as much to shovel tomorrow. Poppies are wonderful flowers.

  15. pattyalcala says:

    I enjoy looking at your beautiful images everyday. I am nominating you for the ‘Real Neat Blog’ Award. If you decline, I will not be offended. Just accept my congratulations.

    • Patty, I’m honored and so happy that you enjoy my blog. I don’t do awards because I found I never got around to doing what I was supposed to do. But thank you so much and I accept your congratulations.

      janet

  16. Hopeje says:

    I love what you wrote!
    You are right, color is close by!
    Nice to learn about January and feb to…
    And I love poppy !!! Thank you so much for this picture.

  17. You captured the delicate bud perfectly. Great color too. : )

  18. pattimoed says:

    Hi Janet. Lovely shot. We both were looking for spring this week! No wonder–with all the cold and snow in the Midwest! –Patti

  19. Hopeje says:

    Just for the pleasure Here s One from modane in France Just for the pleasure : Papaver rhoeas L. | so parislux !
    http://soparislux.com/2013/07/08/just-for-the-pleasure-papaver-rhoeas-l/

  20. Moon says:

    Nice take…so apt to the theme.

  21. It is so cool seeing these kind of plants up close. So close the hairs show!

  22. Madoqua says:

    For those of us enjoying a lovely summer, we wish you milder winter weather and many delightful flowers to cheer things up!

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

