A few thoughts on space

Posted: February 5, 2015 in House and home, Musings
Tags: , , ,

The word “space” can mean disparate things. There’s “space: the final frontier”, stretching into unending vastness. There are spacious houses and those without much space. And then there are those spaces both too small and too large, although certainly not infinite or vast.

“Space” can also mean opposite things at the same time.  There’s a space between the counter and the stove. It’s not big, not wide enough for anything substantial to fall through, but a yawning cavern for bits of escaping food. An asparagus end cut off before putting the rest into water, a carrot coin afraid of steaming, anything round and distressingly mobile—all these have plenty space to take the, to them, skyscraper-sized plunge into the depths of that cavern.

The space is too small, however, to easily retrieve the miscreants. A yardstick works best, the only thing I’ve found with the perfect combination of thinness and length to reach down and sweep out. Sometime I use the reach-and-sweep from floor level, pushing everything out to the far side of the stove. It arrives coated with the dust that with unseen, relentless determination finds its way into every space, dustable or not.

Comments
  1. irinadim says:

    There are so many hard-to-reach spaces in my house. I just keep looking at them and thinking, I’ve got to clean this somehow, but I hardly ever do it. 🙂

  2. Please pass the doobie. Weed creates a lot of space, people.
    Is it legal where you’re living? Little early to be smoking….
    (;-) )
    Randy
    Please feel free not trash this if you’d like – just leave the “space” blank so I’ll know that it was my space once.

  3. It’s all true, as well as the space given to write a Friday Fictioneer’s Story or a Five Sentence Fiction submission – not enough, but just enough…
    Scott

  4. I know the feeling. I use my son to move the stove out to clean behind and to the side of it. Works just as well. But he moans a bit.

  5. Su Leslie says:

    Oh I remember this; and worse, moving into a house and having to Coleen someone else’s bit of food from the gap. One of the things I love most about the kitchen I designed for our renovation was the fact that the cooktop and ovens are built-in. No more gaps.

  6. Great photo Janet and usage of the word miscreants!!!

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

