Phoneography and Non-SLR Digital Devices Photo Challenge: Macro…spiky

Posted: February 9, 2015 in Nature, Phoneography Challenge
Tags: , , , ,

Macro photography with a phone camera can be challenging, but it can also be rewarding.  Every second Monday of the month, anyone taking macro photos with a camera that’s not a traditional camera is welcome to join the Phoneography Challenge hosted by Sally at Lens and Pens by Sally.  There are challenges each week, beginning on Monday, so please feel free to drop by and participate or simply enjoy viewing all the photos.

My photo this week is from a cactus in the natural yard at my parents’ home in the Phoenix area.  Cactus spines are beautiful in macro photograpy but you don’t want to get up close and personal with them.

IMG_1057

Comments
  1. Julia Manuel says:

    Stunning shot! Well done. Would you be so kind and provide the link for Salon’s page? Kind regards

  2. oh, wow. That is something else. Terrific. Randy

    • Good morning, Randy, and thanks so much. While we were visiting my parents in Arizona, I took advantage of the completely different scenery to get some shots. I do love the desert.

      janet

  3. It’s an intriguing capture with the small given its due. That close up shows the curious way that nature keeps those spikes anchored in the cactus. But it’s also the composition that has me returning to see more. Happy Photo Challenge.

  4. words4jp says:

    Very very cool. I have never seen the ‘prickers’ this close up before.

    • Seeing them close is one thing, feeling them would be another! And there are SO many of them per cactus!

      janet

      • words4jp says:

        My mom used to have cacti – she kept them on the windowsill in my bedroom. She said – they liked the light which my window provided. I personally was not a fan. They would bite me. I would not even touch them or come close to them to bother them – I still always – ended up with a pricker!!! My mom always giggled. Me? I swear they’re were like little dragons, but instead of spitting fire, they would spit prickers:).

      • 🙂 Not really funny in practice, but as with many not-funny-at-the-time things, it makes a good story.

  5. Cathy Ulrich says:

    Great minds think alike, Janet! 🙂 Great shot.

  6. A nice shot, Janet. Its nice to be reminded of warm weather in the middle of winter. 🙂

  7. Nato says:

    Great shot! I just want to reach out and touch them, but that would probably hurt!

  8. Angeline M says:

    Wow! Fantastic macro!

  9. So many puns about sharpness come to mind, but I am impressed by just that. Daring of you to get so close.
    Happy Monday
    Carol

  10. Great photo. I love the colours and it is interesting to see the spikes right up close.

  11. That cactus macro is amazing! 🙂

  12. These don’t look very friendly at all. 🙂

  13. I agree with you on the cactus spines … ouch. Fabulous macro … you’ve captured every details. 😊

  14. Janet, this is an excellent capture. Stunning. The composition is beautiful.

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

