Lovebirds in the desert

Posted: February 10, 2015 in Nature, Travel
Tags: , , , , ,

On our recent visit to Arizona to visit my parents, I as usual enjoyed looking out the window at the desert landscape and life, so different from that of the Great Plains where we live.  The “lawn” of choice is a natural one, with “grass” of rocks and plants that are indigenous to the desert, rather than grass, which takes copious amounts of water, water stolen for years from the Colorado River and other places.

There are a variety of birds, including many quail and mourning doves, but this time I spotted birds I’d never seen before (and which my parents hadn’t seen before, either), birds that looked like small parrots.  There were about eight of them that loved hanging out in the palm tree outside the back door, perching on the large cactus outside the living room windows, or flying back and forth, all the which chattering in lovely, tropical tones.  They are Rosy-faced Lovebirds, birds originally from Africa.  These are descendants of birds that escaped from captivity and although they often die after escaping, in the Phoenix area they have thrived, adding a beauty of both color and sound to the Arizona desert.

IMG_0920

Comments
  1. What a pretty little lovebird, Janet. Very appropriate for Valentine’s month. 🙂

  2. Sweet colorful bird, Janet. I’m happy you happened upon him and photographed it for us. 😊

  3. What a cool find! When I lived in Santa Fe, every spring some colorful bird or another would pass through, but I never saw these. Nice. Thanks for the shot. Hope you had a great time in the warm weather.

    • Janet, we had a great time despite me being sick and coughing like a made fiend the entire time. At least I didn’t have chores to do and meals to fix while I was there. 🙂 I think these birds might be relative newcomers to the Phoenix area.

      janet

  4. Lovely photo. It is nice to see different birds.

  5. Wonderful find…There is such variety, color, shape in the world of birds.

  6. We have thousands of escaped parakeets in London now, I think they’re related to your lovebirds and they’re an extraordinary sight (and sound)! I’m waiting for them to start breeding with our grey London pigeons and wondering what they will produce!

    • I don’t know if they’re related or not, as these are much larger than a parakeet. But either way, I agree that the offspring of a parakeet and a pigeon could be very interesting in appearance!

      Thanks for the visit and comment.

      janet

  7. ChristineR says:

    Cute parrot. I know how hard it is to get close enough to birds to photograph them! Well captured, Janet.

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

