Weekly Photo Challenge: Rule of Thirds… a walk in the park

Posted: February 20, 2015 in Nature, Weekly Photo Challenge
Tags: , , , ,

Jen, at the Weekly Photo Challenge, tells us that:

The Rule of Thirds is a photography concept that puts the subject of the photograph off-center, which usually results in blank space in the rest of the image. If you focus closely on your subject and use a wide aperture, your photograph’s background will also be beautifully blurred in that blank space. The blurred area behind your focal point is referred to as bokeh, and when executed well, it adds depth and artistry to an otherwise simplistic photograph.

Here’s my interpretation of the Rule of Thirds when applied to nature during a walk in the park, although not during the recent frigid temperatures and snow.  🙂

IMG_7081

 

Comments
  1. What an unusual flower, and such a delicate colour. I have never seen one like this. I think you have really exemplified the rule of thirds theme for the challenge this week! Well done. Did you use an SLR or smartphone, Janet?

  2. I’m awesturck as I just read in the comments that you used your IPhone for this photo and most of your photos. They all come out beautifully as did this one. The color is pale and delicate. I think you did a fine job for this challenge. 😊

    • Thanks very much, Izzy. As I said, almost all my blog photos were taken with either my iPad (early posts) or my iPhone (from Dec. 2013 on.) I have a Nikon, but I usually use my phone because it’s so easy to take along with me.

      janet

  3. Those petals look like teeth. 🙂

  4. Striking color. I like the focus on the petal rickrack edge and little fuzzy texture

  5. soft and wavy like a sea urchin – beautiful composition Janet. Hope its a grand weekend for you.

  6. Jennifer L Thorpe says:

    Very pretty and delicate flower. I really like this! You nailed it!

  7. coolquilting says:

    what a pretty flower…I have never seen anything like it…Lovely photo.

  8. Bumba says:

    What about the golden proportion? About 5/8 centering.

  9. becca givens says:

    Such a striking color!! Love its delicate features against the black!

  10. yprior1 says:

    very cool take on the wpc – front he reader – the floor looked like it was lit up – and it is just stunning

  11. Sandra says:

    Beautiful shot, Janet.

  12. Amy says:

    Fantastic, Janet! Beautiful, indeed!

  13. That is a stunning photo. Congrats to the skilled photographer. 🙂

  14. colonialist says:

    A copybook entry! Striking.

  15. thirdeyemom says:

    That is simply stunning Janet!

  16. Perfect for the challenge and I absolutely love the color! 🙂

  17. Well done, Janet! I love the color and the hairs on the petals. An interesting flower.

  18. Tina Schell says:

    Love the color of this one Janet, the shape as well. Makes a very interesting study and of course you’ve complied with the instructions perfectly. Not such a rebel at all LOL!!

    • You’ve found me out, Tina, although I can be rebellious. I just figured this photo fit perfectly and I love the way it looks, so…
      Thanks for stopping by and I’m happy you like it.

      janet

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

