Weekly Photo Challenge: Orange you glad it’s photo challenge time?

Posted: March 6, 2015 in Art, Family, Weekly Photo Challenge
Tags: , , , , ,

Hard to believe it’s already Friday once again, but this Friday is a special one–it’s the last Friday (at least for a week or so), that the temperatures will scream “Winter!!!”  Starting tomorrow (Saturday), spring will arrive, trailing her mid-40’s or higher (Fahrenheit, of course) days and nights with double digits adorning them.  She will be so very welcome.  Even if winter makes a sally or two here and there, I’m happy knowing spring will ultimately prevail.

This week’s challenge falls right into the anticipation of spring and its glorious colors:  “Orange you glad it’s photo challenge time?”  A sunset sprang to mind immediately, but I thought I’d try to go somewhere different.  Here’s where I went and I hope you enjoy the journey with me.

Comments
  1. orange is great, I totally love it… it’s always warm :o)

  2. Cee Neuner says:

    Wonderful oranges Janet for this week. 🙂

  3. nuvofelt says:

    Nothing like a flash of orange to catch the eye.

  4. Norma says:

    Great oranges, Janaet. 🙂

  5. Madhu says:

    Fab choices Janet! Love those bowls!

  6. Orange is my favourite colour. Also, I recognize that painting =)

  7. Sandra says:

    Beautiful photos Janet, particularly like the top right. Roll on spring… 🙂

  8. Is Megan your sister, Janet? I like the orange hair, very surprising. And the bowls are lovely, as is the other photo. Intense rich colors.

  9. words4jp says:

    lovely photos:) they are so vibrant – beautiful.

  10. LavendarLadi says:

    Great photos!!! I love the texture of the “lantern flower” (?) top right.

  11. Great photos. I do love the Chihuly artwork. The colours are so gorgeous. Is the artwork from a family member? It is great. Love it.

  12. Big fan of Chihuly, too. He had an exhibit at our VMFA a few years back and it was a blockbuster. The portrait is wonderful.

  13. thirdeyemom says:

    Lovely Janet! I can’t wait as they are predicting almost 60 by end of next week. We will see if it happens!

  14. viveka says:

    Warm and inviting …… happy and more happy. My favorite is the painting.

  15. Oh wow not only do I like your choices but they share a movement between them. Janet I hope you have a sunny weekend – indeed let us celebrated Spring Soon!!!

    • I’m chuffed that you like them. I’m definitely in for the almost-spring celebration. If it gets into the 40’s tomorrow, it will be a veritable heat wave!! enjoy.

      janet

  16. Amy says:

    Such a beautiful orange selections, Janet! 🙂

  17. Grace says:

    Love your choices, especially the Chihuly bowl!

  18. nowathome says:

    The art is beautiful, Janet!

  19. Lucid Gypsy says:

    These are all beautiful 🙂

  20. lauzlau says:

    Bright, beautiful pics of orange! Spring is definitely in sight.

    • It was a glorious day here and spring has sprung, thankfully. It may drop back a bit, but I feel good about the odds of it staying nice most of the time. Hopefully I’m right. 🙂

      janet

  21. Leya says:

    Vibrant and different.

  22. Cnawan Fahey says:

    Love the desicated pods. Don’t know if they’re chinese lanterns or tomatillas or ground cherries, but they certainly look like the ground cherry husks that I saw as a young boy at my grandmother’s. Can still call to mind the wonderful flavor of those fruits all these later. It was a wonderful annual ritual, her sharing those with us, her grandchildren.

    • They’re Chinese lanterns, Cnawan, that we grew outside our former house. But they do look like tomatillas. I’ve never had those but I’ll have to try some. The Chinese lanterns grow like weeks and you continually have to pull them up from places you never expected them to go, although nothing like mint!!

      janet

      • Cnawan Fahey says:

        Interesting. I assume they’re all in the same night shade family? Maybe not. Anyway, I always loved how the husk of the ground cherries, like these, first turn dry and papery, and then the “flesh” of the husk falls away, leaving only the intricately laced veins. So beautiful, and so very suggestive of death, decay, and what delicate memories remain, until those too are lost to subsequent seasons and generations.

      • I didn’t know if they were related so I looked them up and sure enough, they are:http://www.motherearthliving.com/in-the-garden/faq-growing-chinese-lantern-plants-physalis-alkekengi.aspx. And they’re invasive like mint, too. 🙂 Evidently, they have medicinal qualities that I didn’t even know about. Think I’ll look at growing some here this year.

      • Cnawan Fahey says:

        Fascinating! I’ll have to read up on these some more. Thank you.

  23. Lovely choices, Janet. Those bowls are beautiful. 🙂

  24. becca givens says:

    Beautiful choices of orange — one of my favorite colors … Brightens the spirit!

  25. Jane Lurie says:

    Vibrant choices for the theme, Janet. I’m a Chihuly fan.

    • Thanks, Jane, glad you liked them. Chihuly’s work is truly amazing, isn’t it, especially the outdoor installations he does. I saw the one in Phoenix just over a year ago and got many posts from it. I was fortunate to be able to see his work during the day and then at night, when everything was illuminated. Stunning!

      janet

  26. offshoots12 says:

    Artwork is very intriguing. Enjoyed your orange choices!

  27. Tina Schell says:

    Plenty of sunsets out there Janet – LOVED your much more creative response. Happy spring!

    • Thanks so much, Tina. Sunsets are hard to resist because they’re so beautiful, but I did want to try to have my entries stand out a bit. Glad you enjoyed them and happy spring back at you. it was 50 today, a veritable heat wave!

      janet

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

