Friday Fictioneers: Time For Dessert

Posted: March 18, 2015 in Uncategorized

“Oh what a tangled web we weave, When first we practise to deceive!”
Sir Walter Scott

Sir Walter and the Friday Fictioneers would have gotten along swimmingly, for the webs woven by the authors of these hundred-word stories are indeed tangled and deceptive.  Murder or no murder, true love or false, twist or no twist (which in these circles is really the new twist)?  You never know until you read.  Read or write-and-read, you’re in for a treat.  Come back every day for more stories and more tangles.  And now, from this Webb to you, a bit of a tangle.

copyright Rachel Bjerke

copyright Rachel Bjerke

Time For Dessert

 “No more pâté, but a bit more wine. Wasn’t it a marvelous idea to come here for our holidays?”

“Yeah, sure, but how ‘bout we head back to the hotel and we can have our dessert in bed.”

“Mmmm, I do love dessert.”

“What the ****? I can’t move!”

“Did I forget to mention this is Le Val Sans Retour, where Morgan le Fey placed a spell, trapping forever all faire knights unfaithful to their ladies? I wasn’t sure and I knew you’d never tell me the truth. I do adore Celtic legends. You can have dessert now… just desserts!”

Comments
  1. micklively says:

    Very sexist. What about the ladies unfaithful to their knights! 😉

  2. Dear Janet,

    Indeed, a nicely tangled Webb was woven here and a just dessert was had by all. 😉

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  3. gahlearner says:

    A dessert is often served cold, as is revenge. Great story.

  4. Just desserts indeed. 🙂

  5. dmmacilroy says:

    Dear Janet,

    Revenge is a dessert best served cold… Well done.

    Aloha,

    Doug

    • Perhaps she could offer a vacation package for woman in similar situations. 🙂 Advertising would have to be carefully done, but I bet the Trip Adviser reviews would be great, although perhaps not as many from men.

      janet

  6. Oh, that should teach him. I like this! Nicely done!

  7. Sandra says:

    Justice is served. Nice one Janet.

  8. It does seem a magical place — I think you could have used a few more words on this one, but we are bound by the rules… (see what I did there?)

    • A few more words would have been good but yes, abiding by the rules. : -) Nice to see you. Thanks for stopping by. I’m off to work shortly, so I face lots of reading on Friday (first time I’ll have much time to read.)

      janet

  9. And a dessert is always served cold.. what a place that would be to have a picnic… I’m sure there was a purpose in this 🙂

  10. Well, his name wasn’t Lancelot. Thanks for the story AND the link. Most interesting.

  11. I guess he got what he deserved! Will he get a second chance?

  12. Janet, I believe there are kinder ways to get even with an unfaithful lover. But probably not as satisfying, I’ll agree. I would never be unfaithful to my wife, though she feels simply talking to a woman online is cheating. So I’d better cut this short before she does….

  13. elmowrites says:

    haha, that’l teach him. I love her attitude and the way she led him up the garden path as it were. She’s going to enjoy dessert tonight, I think.

  14. Oh what a tangled web . . . well done.

  15. storydivamg says:

    Chilly tale of just desserts. Hell may have no fury, but it seems it may have just frozen over . . .

    All my best,
    MG

  16. subroto says:

    🙂 Was it a magic spell or food poisoning via the pate? Lucky she did not hit him when he was down, otherwise he would have a few nights in shining plaster.

  17. And in the end, the love you take
    is equal to the love
    who takes you.

    Randy

  18. Jan Brown says:

    Very funny, and very just! But it’s making me hungry for some actual dessert 😉

  19. plaridel says:

    i wonder if this falls under the category of you can’t have your cake and eat it, too.

  20. Haha What a twist! Super funny, he certainly deserved it! Great job!

  21. “You can have dessert now… just desserts!” Great line, Janet, and nice twist.

  22. draliman says:

    Uh-oh, he’s in trouble! Well, he brought it on himself.

  23. Dave says:

    Morgan le Fay always needed an enema. But even so, she was better company than Guinevere.
    Hmm, Lancelot, come over here…

  24. rgayer55 says:

    Vengeful little thing, isn’t she? I love the “just desserts” line.

  25. Oh my …. someone was handed an unexpected surprise.
    Well done, Janet. Clever write…!!!😊

  26. Margaret says:

    Great twist. He deserves his fate, I guess, but she’s a cool customer – ‘Did I forget to mention …?’ I think he’s met his match in her, even without Morgan Le Fey’s assistance.

    • I think you’re right, but without Morgan and her spell, she’d have to deal with him in either a more normal way or a more deadly one. 🙂 Thanks for reading and commenting, Margaret, as usual. Have a great weekend.

      janet

  27. Charming, I love how this untangled. I wouldn’t even leave him the dessert.

  28. Indira says:

    Ah revenge! Great story.

  29. AnnIsikArts says:

    Nice one. ‘Arthurian Romance’ brought into the 21st century. 🙂 Believe it or not, I’ve been to Le Val Sans Retour. On a bicycle. I went over the handlebars of my bike, plunged head first into a grass-filled ditch and according to my husband – who was cycling behind me – disappeared completely! It was a deep ditch. It nearly was the ‘valley without return’ for me! I thought I’d discovered what had happened to all those knights.

  30. There might be a waiting line when word gets out about that place. Well done, Janet. 🙂 — Suzanne

  31. What a wicked web we weave, when we practice to deceive! Clever use of the prompt, Janet. I like the fairytale element, that also rings modern. Sorry I’m so late, but we were away thru’ late Sunday and I had 2 days at hospice this week! I save the best for last. 😉

    • Dawn, no worries about being late. I didn’t get to even half of the stories last week and won’t get a story done this week. Too much real life going on plus a blog that gets a daily post. 🙂 Glad you liked the story and thanks for making me part of your FF reading list.

      janet

      • Daily! Eek! I can barely keep up with 1-2 a week lately!! Seriously dragging on that front. I can’t do the entire FF list each week. I try to read those who read me, and some that I’ve become attached to (count yourself attached)… but real life seems to be suffering too, with my inability to keep the balls in the air. Ugh. :-p

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

