Spam can be fun!

Posted: March 21, 2015 in Miscellaneous
Tags: , , ,

I wanted to share what we had for our meal tonight, but I find it’s quite late and I don’t have time to do justice to it.  I’ll schedule it for next week.  But every so often, I enjoy looking at the spam in my spam folder and thought I’d instead share a couple current gems with you.

Here’s one that showed up while we were eating with friends we haven’t seen for many months:

It’s difficult to find educated people on this topic, however, you sound like you know what
you’re talking about! Thanks

That sounds both innocuous and complimentary…until you realize it was made in response to a Weekly Photo Challenge Photo!  I don’t imagine there was much talking at all and as it came from a “website” partially called “vanitylovingbathrooms”, I doubt that site and my post had much in common.

My other current spam is this:

І was recommended this website through my couѕin. I am no longer sure wɦether this publish is written bby way of him as no one else recognise suϲh precise approximately my problem. You are wondеrful!  Thank you!

This is also in response, supposedly, to a photo challenge and the purported website is something to do with genetics, so once again it’s unlikely to pertain to my photo post.  I’m happy to know, however,  that these people consider me well-informed and wonderful.  🙂

WordPress does a great job of catching spam, but I do enjoy the ones I find in my spam folder.  For the longest time, I got spam advertising air conditioners or heaters as auto sellers in various cities, all in response to the same photo post.  I deleted them daily, but did wonder how I’d gotten on their list.  I’ve also gotten extremely long ones that made no sense, but did have periodic forays into brand names, a bit like watching Spanish television and only understanding “Coca Cola” or some other English phrase every so often.  Not much point in getting upset about it, though, so I just read them and weep…usually with laughter…then hit “delete.”

Enjoy your weekend and any spam that might come your way.

 

Comments
  1. I wonder how much cousins this spammer has…. i’ve got the same thingy. hmmmm… maybe mine is from the cousin of the cousin? LOL

    • He also has a cousin who is a Nigerian prince and needs some money from you to get to the US, where he can access all his funds and make you rich. 🙂

      janet

      • oh that’s this stingy guy who has 999 billions and he will give me just 87 billions when I help him out with 100 bucks… that’s no deal, I think :o)

      • I know that fraud attempt well. Had to help my Sis through it. He used a “want to meet you, but need $ to get to you as my assets here are frozen.” He said he was from England and actually talked to my Sis on the phone. She said his voice sounded strange and I told her that it was Nigerian and this was the Nigerian Scam. She called him on it and he never called back.

  2. I get the first spam often. I have a photoblog, and don’t write much. Sometimes, I wonder if the person’s being sarcastic. 😛 😉
    Have a great weekend.

  3. Angelia Sims says:

    Some spam comments are pretty darn funny. I don’t even get to check my folder too often as they build up. But yes, great for a laugh. 🙂

  4. I agree with you. It can be fun at times. I collected some funny ones and prepared a post but it’s still a draft as I never published it.
    Yours is hilarious.

  5. Sue says:

    I get tons of rubbish spam – super long rambling nonsense, and you can tell a machine has created it. The other day, I had some short and very crude spams..three in total, I deleted the first, but the guy didn’t give up straight away… Thank goodness for WP spam finder

  6. I used to get spam a lot when I first started this blog but don’t get any now. Now that I have written this I probably will start getting some. They are funny though. Don’t you just love the spelling.

  7. maamej says:

    I agree, laughter is the best way to deal with it, and gratefulness that WordPress spam filters are so good.

  8. Indira says:

    Hi Janet I too enjoy reading spam sometimes and the variety is remarkable. starting from offering me thousands of dollars to penis enlargement …..OMG. Few of them are so funny at the same time irritating.

    • Definitely! Most of the enlargement type ads show up in the spam in my email account not, thankfully, on WordPress. The problem is that a good spam filter often gets non-spam, so I have to remember to keep checking.

      janet

  9. yprior1 says:

    at first when I started reading – the title had spam and then you said dinner – or that you wanted to share what “we had for our meal tonight” – and I thought – “I doubt Janet would eat Spam” -= but I quickly got to the part about where it was not about your meal (ha!) and liked your examples and comments on blog spam –

  10. Nothing like green spam and eggs to start the day….
    please don’t delete. I make fast friends like a good Suess.
    try me @ thewritersvillage.wordpress.com

  11. […] I did a post about how much fun spam could be (as long as caught by the spam filter.)  Not long after that, I came across another gem that had […]

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

