Phoneography Challenge: Nature…yellow

Posted: April 6, 2015 in Nature, Phoneography Challenge
Tags: , , ,

Daffodowndilly

by A.A. Milne

She wore her yellow sun-bonnet,
She wore her greenest gown;
She turned to the south wind
And curtsied up and down.
She turned to the sunlight
And shook her yellow head,
And whispered to her neighbour:
“Winter is dead.” 

Although I love much about winter, I, with A.A. Milne and his daffodil, hope that winter is, for this year, dead.  There are signs of spring life, a few more each day: the daffodils barely contained in their wrappers, the green grass poking through the brown, the tender green buds on long, arching branches.  Last weekend in Philadelphia, although we experienced some temperatures that were purely winter, I caught sight of these beautiful yellows, calling to me, “Spring is coming, Don’t despair.”  So I offer them to you with those same words, “Don’t despair.  Spring is on its way.”  (For those of you in the opposite hemisphere, feel free to come back in six months to re-read this post.)  🙂

IMG_2073

Some painters transform the sun into a yellow spot, others transform a yellow spot into the sun.
~ Pablo Picasso

The Phoneography Challenge, offered every Monday morning, is open to anyone taking photos with a non-traditional camera.  On the first Monday of the month, the theme is “Nature.”  We’d love to have you join us.  See the other themes, links to other entries, and read Sally’s wonderful blog at Lens and Pens by Sally.

Comments
  1. nowathome says:

    Beautiful words!! Great photo!

  2. Beautiful picture to go with beautiful words 🙂

  3. Love A.A.Milne. 🙂 And, yellow in the garden is always a good thing.

    • I love yellow, but yellow doesn’t love me, at least to wear. So I have to get my yellow fix in other ways, such as the pot of yellow tulips on the hearth right now. The daffodils are starting to open, so I’ll be loving that. Spring is here!!!!

      janet

  4. Marvelous combination of image and words. Spring does seem to be inching into our lives. Happy Photo Challenge.

  5. Those flowers look so cheery. Love the poem and the quote.

  6. Lot to look at for one shot. Well edited
    Happy, Happy Spring!

  7. Amy says:

    Beautiful post, Janet! 🙂

  8. Lovely photo. Great quotes. It is great seeing how the northern hemisphere is coming alive with colour while our colour represents the end of our summer. The circle of life.

  9. Angeline M says:

    I’m so glad your spring is coming forth. Your photo is a wonderful celebration of just that.

  10. Tina Schell says:

    Lovely post Janet. We spent Easter Sunday afternoon at Magnolia Garden, where the azalea were everywhere! Hoping to use some of the shots for the weeky challenge. Meanwhile, loved your colorful floral!

    • Bill and I enjoyed being outside a good part of Saturday on the Illinois Michigan Canal Trail and I got some shots of a heron and an egret as well as some turtles. Hoping to use them soon, too. I also have a couple that I took in Philly recently of bees. I posted one today, but I have a couple I think are better that I’m saving for the challenge, too. 🙂

      janet

  11. Norma says:

    Wonderful poem and that yellow looks quite jolly. At last it’s spring. 🙂

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

