Being part of the silence

Posted: May 2, 2015 in Nature
Tags: , , ,

Yesterday I spent almost two hours walking through “my” park, but off the regular path. On the way back, I spotted these two beauties and as I had my Nikon with telephoto lens with me as well as my phone, I was able to capture them, rather than just enjoy them wistfully.  I love this quote I just found, as it perfectly describes what I did for those two hours: I became part of the silence and so I saw things.

In order to see birds it is necessary to become a part of the silence.
~Robert Lynd

DSC_0843

Summer is the season of wild birds.
~Marty Rubin

DSC_0851

Early summer days are a jubilee time for birds. In the fields, around the house, in the barn, in the woods, in the swamp – everywhere love and songs and nests and eggs.
  ~E.B. White

Comments
  1. nowathome says:

    Beautiful photo’s Janet!

  2. t#s wonderful to be a part of the silence … that’s like chocolate for our souls :o)

  3. Your first image is a definite keeper. It would make a nice card or bulletin cover. Ω

  4. tobyo says:

    these are wonderful!!!

    • Thanks! If I’d only had my phone, which is what I take on my exercise walks, I wouldn’t have been able to get these. I was hoping to get one of the red-winged blackbirds that are everywhere right now, but didn’t see one in a good spot on the way back.

  5. Lovely photos, Janet. Which Nikon do you have?

    • D5100. Costco had it “on sale” some time back, as it was the display model. I really need to get out the DVD and see how all the bells and whistles work, but I just never seem to get around to it. However, I can point and shoot and get the photos off the memory card, so it’s not all bad. 🙂

  6. I just love your woodpecker. A downy, I think? And a juvenile by the looks of the ruffled feathers . . . perhaps. Anyway, awesome. Am inspired to go out looking for some now.

    • I’m not a bird authority by any stretch of the imagination, but I think that type of woodpecker is generally larger when full grown, so you may be right. Happy hunting. 🙂

  7. Angeline M says:

    Wonderful photos, Janet. Since we moved six months ago I’m missing my birds that we had around our house at the old place. I’ve used Vistaprint to make cards, and they have done an excellent job in the printing of my photos.

  8. Great shots. I love walking through the park on my own and just listening to birdsong. So peaceful and calming for the soul.

  9. Em Well says:

    Just yesterday I told someone, “my favorite sound is the quiet.”

  10. Amy says:

    Love the quotes. Beautiful captures of the birds, Janet!

  11. Ruchi says:

    The birds look gorgeous and you have captured them very well.

    • Thanks so much, Ruchi! The woodpecker was moving around quite quickly, so I was happy to get some good shots. Fortunately, he stopped to peck away for food and then I caught him.

      janet

      • Ruchi says:

        Yeah these birds are difficult to capture when they are flying around. Glad that you could get a nice shot finally. 🙂

      • I’m glad, too, Ruchi. It was worth carrying the camera and lens around just for that, but I got some other good shots as well.

        janet

  12. Paula says:

    These are lovely 🙂

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

