Phoneography and Non-SLR Digital Devices Photo Challenge: Reflections on water

Posted: May 4, 2015 in Nature, Phoneography Challenge
Tags: , , , , ,

Nature” is the theme for every first Monday in the Phoneography Challenge. I’ve been getting out into nature at every possible chance now that the weather is good. Friday, I took to the side trails in the park, to explore the places I’m always glancing at while exercise walking. I ended up by the river and found these lovely reflections, symbolic of the reflections going on in my mind while walking, relaxing, and renewing. Do you have a preference?

IMG_2891

IMG_2897

Comments
  1. nowathome says:

    The reflections are amazing!!

  2. Eloquent and yet simple beauty in nature’s reflections. Happy Photo Challenge.

  3. Cathy Ulrich says:

    I like the first one better, Janet. I love the color contrast and how the tree branches frame the shot at the top. Nicely done.

  4. LavendarLadi says:

    Beautiful and peaceful. I like the first photo, I wonder if it’s because it has the same qualities as the photos I choose this week? I do love how you made the reflections the focus.

  5. Pretty shots, Janet! I agree with the others. I think I prefer the top shot. I love the variety of colors. A gorgeous window! ~Theadora (Enjoy the week!)

    • Thanks, Theadora, and thanks from taking time from your busy schedule to drop by. How’s the magazine writing going? I’m sure you’re doing a marvelous job. You have a great week as well.

  6. Very pretty pictures. The top one almost looks like a map of the world.

    • Top o’ the mornin’ to you, Helena, eh? Thanks for stopping in this morning. From what I see on FB, you’re a very busy person. Hope the writing’s going well. I think of you sometimes when I’m watching the Stanley Cup playoffs. Don’t know if you like hockey, but you’re in Canada, so…

      janet

  7. Good morning Janet!
    These reflections resemble a painting! Very beautiful.
    Have a lovely week.
    Lucile

  8. I like the first one, because more of the trees are reflected. The way you’ve captured this shot makes it look like a lovely painting.

  9. Amy says:

    Beautiful water reflections! I like the tree reflections of the first one. 🙂

  10. milai says:

    Beautiful! I love the colors. I prefer #2 because the frame made it more dramatic.

  11. Angeline M says:

    I love that first one the best. It has a more light and spring like feel. Beautiful!

  12. Reflections can be seriously tricky to manage, but you definitely brought out the best of this one! Looks like a place I’d love to spend some time and just drink in the surroundings.

    • Yes, it’s a lovely place, a place where you forget that you’re surrounded by the city, cars, and people. It’s not a large place, but it’s a peaceful one.

      janet

  13. They are both great photos. I do love reflections. They are such fun.

    • They really are, Raewyn. I have quite a collection of reflection photos (what a nice ring that has.) I can’t really call it a collection, as that implies they’re together in a file or something, but I have a lot scattered in amongst all my photos.

      janet

  14. Hopeje says:

    I prefer the first one… Happy to have a better weather as well

  15. Paula says:

    Reflections are full of possibilities. These both photos would work great as abstracts too if it weren’t for the grass in the foreground. I know what you mean when you say they reflect how your mind works 🙂 Lovely – the first one is maybe a bit more interesting cause of the dual colour in the branches. Do you have a favourite?

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

