Weekly Photo Challenge: Forces of Nature…the force of surprise

Posted: May 8, 2015 in Animals, Weekly Photo Challenge
Tags: , , , , ,

Spring has sprung and is playing with summer:  a hot, humid day, then back to the cooler ones that I so enjoy.  This morning during my walk, the air was heavy with the humidity left from last night’s rain and with that approaching today.  I could feel the hair on my head frizzing and waving as I walked. I love cool nights and warm, not hot days, so spring is one of my four favorite seasons.  🙂

Today, the WordPress gurus have declared the theme to be “Forces of Nature.”  Following are a few definitions of “force” that fit my photo choice for today.

Force:

1.physical power or strength possessed by a living being
2.strength or power exerted upon an object
3.strength; energy; power; intensity

On my walk in the park a week ago, I went “off-road”, off the main paths and walked quietly (aided by the dampness) through the forest and by the river, taking photos and enjoying nature.  As I walked towards the main path, I though how I’d love to come across a deer nearby, rather than the three does I saw moving quickly away on the other side of the river.  Not more than a minute later, I glanced off to the side and saw this magnificent guy standing completely still, staring at me.  He wasn’t more than 30 yards away, at most.  We both stood unmoving (except for my camera) for some minutes.  He was still standing, watchful and unmoving, when I slowly walked away, feeling the force of his beauty and the excitement of the moment.

DSC_0828
Comments
  1. Jean says:

    I had forgotten that today is Friday and that my “Intricate” weekly post would be obsolete. I will be watching for a “Force of Nature” now . . .

  2. Janet- what a powerful way to start your day. A handsome shot ❤

  3. I love the budding horns. What a gift.

  4. de Wets Wild says:

    What a beautiful animal, Janet!

  5. Angeline M says:

    Fantastic way to start your day, and what a special moment this must have been.

    • It was, Angeline. I like and need to walk for exercise, but a photography walk or even one for relaxation is also wonderful. I plan to go again soon. Perhaps I’ll glimpse him again.

      janet

  6. Lena says:

    Stunning photo.

  7. Good. Golly. What a beautiful photograph, Janet! Did your heart race? I love the framing. I love the eye contact. Gorgeous.
    ~Theadora

    • Many thanks, Theadora. My heart did race, I must admit. I was afraid he’d bound off before I got a decent photo and he was so magnificent that I would have been crushed. Lucky for me, he stood still. 🙂

  8. atureaud says:

    Absolutely Gorgeous 😊

  9. […] weekly photo challenge: forces of nature Journeyman Forces of Nature: Guilin, China This, that and the other thing Weekly Photo Challenge: Forces of Nature…the force of surprise A Sawyer’s Daughter Twisted I’m a Writer, Yes I Am Forces of Nature From Hiding to […]

  10. Great shot J. You are a bit of a force of nature yourself!

  11. seeker says:

    What a forceful stud!

  12. Lucky you. What a wonderful moment.

  13. thirdeyemom says:

    Lovely catch Janet!

  14. Nurul Lubis says:

    You captured it very well, Janet. He’s beautiful..

  15. You caught that intense gaze and almost ready to leap away muscle energy. Beautiful shot ( even the patchy hide texture!)

  16. […] weekly photo challenge: forces of nature Journeyman Forces of Nature: Guilin, China This, that and the other thing Weekly Photo Challenge: Forces of Nature…the force of surprise A Sawyer’s Daughter Twisted I’m a Writer, Yes I Am Forces of Nature From Hiding to […]

  17. Nothing more exciting and beautiful than face-to-face with a fellow creature – the look in his eyes is very comfortable and inquisitive. Well done Janet!

  18. Oh fantastic! This is such a lovely shot. I am pretty sure it must have been difficult to take a shot at these deers coz they have this tendency to leapfrog and run away instantly. I am glad you got such a nice shot at its eyes straight 🙂

    Beautifully captured and lovely story 🙂

  19. nowathome says:

    Beautiful photo, Janet!

  20. Imelda says:

    oh, what a treat for you! It must have been as fascinated by you as you are by him. :-0

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

