Phoneography and the Non-SLR Digital Devices Photo Challenge: Macro…pollen

Posted: May 11, 2015 in Nature, Phoneography Challenge
Tags: , , , , ,

If you take photos with a non-traditional camera,please consider joining Sally’s weekly challenge (begins each Monday).  There’s a theme for each week and lots of talented photographers take part.  Sally also shares thought, tips, and links to work done by other photographers.  It’s lots of fun.  And today, since it’s the second Monday of the month, the theme is “Macro.” I was playing with the Olloclip, a much-appreciated Christmas gift that allows eve closer macro shots with my iPhone 5s, and getting up close and personal with some flowers. I have to admit I was thrilled with the results!  Here’s one of them.  And don’t forget to stop by and take part.

IMG_1887

Comments
  1. Su Leslie says:

    This is stunning Janet. I love the colour palette as well as the detail.

  2. You certainly managed to capture the inner essence, which reveals such hidden gems of nature. Happy Photo Challenge.

    • A happy Monday morning to you, Sally, from chilly, rainy Chicagoland. No morning walk this morning, so I’m headed to the basement and my weights. But first I’m going to stop by to see what you have to share this morning. Enjoy your day and thanks for stopping in.

      janet

  3. nowathome says:

    Beautiful Macro!!

  4. Beautiful colors today, Janet. You are really good with that Olloclip. Ω

    • Allan, my ability really varies. Sometimes I can’t get anything to look right and truth be told, I’m not sure if I used the Olloclip or just the phone. Be that as it may, I was pleased with the way the photo turned out. 🙂 Thanks for the early morning visit and enjoy your Monday.

      • Whatever you did worked well. I still struggle with using my iPhone for Macro images. I need to practice more often. You have given me a fine example to strive towards. Ω

  5. Madhu says:

    That is a spectacular capture Janet!!! Seems to me like Iphones will soon make cameras redundant 🙂

    • Madhu, the cameras really are excellent, but there are things a real camera does better, such as distance shots and the ability to enlarge the photo without losing clarity. Overall, though, phone cameras these days are amazing and so easy to carry! Thanks for stopping. It’s always great to see you. Hope all’s well in your life and part of the world.

  6. You out did yourself this week! You made me sneeze 😉
    Beautiful image!

  7. Phone cameras have come a long ways, the detail in your photo is so stunning.

    • A happy Monday to you, Charlie, and thanks very much. Phone cameras now are better than the real cameras we had when I was growing up. Isn’t it amazing? And they can be taken almost anywhere with ease. We are truly blessed as photographers these days.

      janet

  8. Hello Janet,
    Hope you had a good weekend.
    And you have all reasons to be excited about this photo. It’s fabulous. Well done. I like macros of the inside of flowers and this one was very well captured.
    Cheers!
    Lucile

  9. Macro shots are so much fun! It’s just incredible what alternate universes are hidden in plain sight, if only we could get a closer look. Flowers are a perfect example of this, and I love the way you chose to capture this one.

    • Thanks, Hannah. I do love macro. Sometimes it seems that the real beauty of a vista or other large shot is too big to really capture, but with macro, you can portray it easily.

      janet

  10. Great macro. I love the background blur and the crystal clear pollen stigmata. Excellent.

  11. Jan Morrill says:

    This is gorgeous, Janet. I’m going to have to look into that Olloclip!

  12. This is just so amazing Janet. What a great Christmas present. I can see you having a lot more fun with it.

  13. thirdeyemom says:

    Wow spectacular Janet!!!

  14. rxfrazier says:

    As others have said, impressive quality for a phone camera. Independent of the camera, nice composition and color mix.

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

