Five Photos, Five Stories Challenge: Day 3…Dream ride

Posted: May 14, 2015 in Misc. Photo Challenges, Personal, Writing
Tags: , , , , , , ,

This is Day 3 of the Five Photos, Five Stories Challenge.   I was invited to participate by Emilio Pasquale at “Photos by Emilio”. The challenge is  to “post a photo each day for five consecutive days and attach a story to the photo. It can be fiction or non-fiction, a poem or a short paragraph and each day nominate another blogger for the challenge”.  

Today’ nominee is Jan Marler Morrill at https://janmorrill.wordpress.com/. Jan’s the author of “The Red Kimono”, a novel about the interment of the Japanese in the US during WWII.  You need to read it.  She also writes haiku and explores various issues on her blog.

IMG_3748

“Mom, may I ride the horse today?” The high point of any trip to the grocery store was getting to ride the mechanical horse by the front doors. I loved horses, although we didn’t have one. Living in the city, even a small city, made having a horse an expensive impossibility. But I dreamed of having a horse someday. In the meantime, this short ride was as close as I could get to a real horse outside the pages of the books I checked out religiously from the library. I knew where every horse book was on the shelves and knew most of them almost by heart.

I didn’t get to ride every time, though. The horse cost a dime and although we weren’t poor, we watched every penny. Mom planned her meals and any stocking up based on what was on sale that week and we often went to several stores to get the best deals. Armed with her list, we made good time through the stores and I never asked for anything extra. I didn’t care. Riding the horse was better than any food treat.

Today Mom smiled, “Yes, you may.” I climbed onto the base, swung my right leg over in my best cowboy style and she put the dime into the slot, sending me riding into a dream world of happiness that lasted long after the ride was over and fueled my dreams for the days ahead.

Comments
  1. I’m with you… I loved a ride on this horses and once we even missed a train, because of such a horse :o)

  2. Helen C says:

    I had never seen one of these horses when I grew up in Taiwan; I let my daughter ride on it many times when she was little. Your story brought back a lot of memories. Thanks.

  3. Whoa! Great shot, Janet! Your image reminds me of the book The Magic Carousel by Dorothy Levenson and Ati Forberg. Dream ride, indeed! ~Theadora (I also loved your story.)

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

