Let’s face it.

Posted: June 1, 2015 in Nature
Tags: , ,

After a wonderful week in Arizona, I’m back in Illinois, going from a high of 106 to one of 53.  That takes a bit of adjustment!  This means I’m back on the internet and will be able to see what all of you are posting, something I missed even while enjoying my time mostly offline.

Although it’s hard to believe, it’s June already and as it’s also the first Monday, the theme for Sally’s challenge this week is “Nature,” something I saw a lot of while in Arizona, nature much different from that in Illinois.  Although very different, both are beautiful.  Each morning I went out for a walk, taking my camera, and although I didn’t get very far in distance, I took lots of photos and had a great time.  Of course, cacti are the main plants and several of the them appear to have faces, as you can see from this photo.  Is this cactus eating or trying to get the bird out of its mouth?  I’m not sure, but either way, it’s a photo filled with fun.

P.S.  Just realized that I took this with my Nikon, not my phone.  I was going back and forth so much on this trip that late last night I forgot which photos were taken with which cameras.  I’m taking it out of Sally’s challenge and letting it stand on it’s own while I replace it in the challenge with a camera photo.  🙂

DSC_0143

Comments
  1. Lena says:

    Awsome picture!! Great spoted and it is a photo that makes you smile.

  2. Tish Farrell says:

    Bird in a cactus – what a brilliant shot. Are sure you didn’t have a carved wooden bird up your sleeve, Janet 🙂

  3. Wow, Janet. Doesn’t get much better than this. I like the “face” on the cactus, the sense of surprise? yelling? emitting the bird? And the shot of the bird, which is beautiful, is just terrific.
    Well done. Randy

  4. It certainly doesn’t matter to me what you took this with because it is spectacular. Wow. 🙂

  5. thirdeyemom says:

    Love this shot Janet! Out of all
    My visits to Arizona I have never captured a bird inside a saguaro before!

  6. Amy says:

    Stunning capture, Janet! Love it. 106 in Phoenix!

  7. pattisj says:

    That’s a great shot you captured. Love the cactus “face.”

  8. Shannon says:

    This is great! 🙂

  9. Brilliant photo. Love the composition as well.

  10. Lola Jane says:

    I love the face on that cactus, and what a wonderful bonus to have captured the beautiful bird inside! I really enjoyed this marvelous shot, Janet.

  11. ChristineR says:

    Brilliant capture of a face in the cactus – the bird makes it all the more spectacular.

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

