I hate…

Posted: June 6, 2015 in Musings
Tags: , , , ,

It’s easy to say “I hate….” whatever that something is, but what does “hate” really mean?

Hate
verb (used with object), hated, hating.
to dislike intensely or passionately; feel extreme aversion for or extreme hostility toward; detest

The word “hate” gets thrown around quite a bit these days, especially in politics.  Although there are people I dislike intensely and some I detest (terrorists, for example), there are none that I hate in the biblical sense of the word, wishing they would go to hell.

However, I hate…

IMG_2886

…litter.

When the girls were little, they asked me why people litter.   The only answer that made sense to me was that they were lazy.  Perhaps they’re also unthinking or don’t care.  But ultimately, I think they’re lazy and disrespectful of other people, of animals, and of the earth.

If you can smoke it and put it out in an ashtray, unwrap and eat it, drink it from a disposable bottle, carry something in it, or simply don’t want to keep it, take it home and dispose of it properly.  Put it in a public trash can, not on the pavement in the parking lot.  Place it in a bag in your vehicle and toss it in the garbage later.
I don’t hate you.  But I do hate your litter.
Comments
  1. I agree Janet. When I went to Japan last year there was very little if any litter in the streets and no garbage bins either. People do take it home, it was amazing to wander around and not see any butts or empty bottles or any at all….

  2. Sue says:

    Totally agree, Janet. I hate the litter, and rather despise the people that leave it there….

  3. Tish Farrell says:

    Yes, littering makes me very cross. It’s the thoughtlessness that I find so irritating.

  4. Su Leslie says:

    One of my pet hates too. I have been known to pick up litter that I’ve seen dropped, run up to the person who dropped it and say very loudly “excuse me, you dropped this.” Usually they’re surprised enough to take it from me and have the decency to look a bit guilty.

    • Su, you’re my hero! I’ve often wished I could pick up what people throw out the car window and stuff it back in. But of course, when I’m in a vehicle, too, that doesn’t work. Good for you!

      janet

      • Su Leslie says:

        Thank you (grin)! It’s the little things that annoy me the most; the things that people could just as easily do differently — like putting litter in a bin. My poor long-suffering son cringes when I go into litter-monitor mode, but he is just as offended by the behaviour. Su.

      • One day our younger daughter and I were in the van and someone playing loud, annoying music pulled up next to us. Without looking, I put the classical station on VERY loudly. Our daughter was chagrined, but I was happy. I never even looked in the direction of the other vehicle. 🙂

      • Su Leslie says:

        Hehe. I think I’ve become quite curmudgeonly lately (and I do so love that word).

      • It IS a good word!

  5. I agree with you. I mostly dislike or can’t stand something/someone, to hate something/someone means for me I had to invest a lot of emotions :o( I’m with you on this front, it’s a no-go to make our planet to a giant dumping ground … I really hate that… specially when people throw their garbage directly next to the next public trash can :o(

  6. I have the same feelings about the lady who takes her dog on the school run every morning then lets it foul the pavement right outside the shops. Someone is bound to step in it!! I have taken to carrying a doggy bag with me to pick it up BUT WHY DOESN’T SHE pick it up. Ok rant over x

  7. This is a topic that annoys me to no end. When I head out to get the mail and notice someone has pitched a fast-food bag full of stuff out a car window, I always wonder why. Or when I see families/companies bagging trash along the highway again I wonder why do they have to do that. Let’s face it, there are trash containers at every place you stop these days. But, I think it is a case of not caring and disrespect, and I’m not real hopeful that this is going to change so I guess the rest of us just need to keep picking up after the others or we’ll be living in one giant dump.

    • We homeschooled our girls and for a time, they and I would go out once a week with gloves and a garbage bag and pick up trash on our four-block street, both sides.

      I agree that it’s not caring and that it’s unlikely to change much. I guess the rest of us have to just do what we can and figure it’s for our own good as well. I’d rather be part of the solution than part of the problem.

      janet

  8. bythebriny says:

    Littering is laziness, disrespect, and hey stupid! you’re sullying your own home.

  9. I agree! Littering is lazy & disrespectful. And completely and easily avoidable. This week, in Newfoundland, they hosed a “15 Minute Clean-up”, in which loads of people came out, spent just 15 minutes cleaning up litter from roadsides, etc. while we should not have to clean up after litterbugs, this event does shed light on the problem.

  10. jpeggytaylor says:

    I absolutely agree – l am another litter loather. It’s unsightly, unnecessary and hazardous to many of the species with whom we share this planet. It’s like going into your friend’s home and throwing trash everywhere! Disgusting! Like many others, I also do my own private litter picks when we are out-and-about as well as joining community efforts from time to time.

  11. I’m with you on this. I love exploring my little area of the world, but absolutely hate it when I discover so much litter. Great post Janet.

  12. ChristineR says:

    Agree 100%. I’m not one to throw that hate word around either, but sometimes it comes close …

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

