Cee’s Oddball Photo Challenge 2015, Week 27…dog days of summer

Posted: July 5, 2015 in Animals, Cee's Photo Challenges, Dogs
Tags: , , , ,

After I took this photo while relaxing over tea in Pasadena, I realized it was an oddball photo for two reasons.  First and foremost, this is the tail end of a family bike ride.  Mom and son had gone past when Dad and the family dog came by, the dog being pulled in this cart by Dad.  I realize this dog isn’t likely to be able to keep up on a bike ride, but it still seemed more than a bit odd to me.  Secondly, because I had to hurry to get the photo, the pole behind the dog appears to be coming out of its back!  Oddball all around.

A belated Fourth of July to all my US compatriots.  I hope you had a wonderful day.

IMG_4864

Comments
  1. Sandra says:

    I prefer to think of the pole as being a mast. For obvious reasons… 😉

  2. Yes, if he had a sail he’d be off on his own destination. 🙂 I’m a dog lover but this makes me wonder when was it we all decided that dogs couldn’t stay home on their own. You can hardly go into a store of any kind anymore without seeing someone with a dog in a purse, a bag, a carrier, a stroller, or locked in a car in the parking lot. In most of these cases, I’m guessing the dog might be more comfortable at home in their crate or on their bed taking a nap. 🙂 Great photo.

    • I completely agree, Judy. When we were fostering, our dog generally stayed home unless we were doing something where she could come along and have fun participating. Although I understand that this dog wouldn’t be able to keep up with a bike ride, I see plenty dogs that could use the exercise or if not, as you say, they could just be at home.

      janet

  3. What a sweet looking dog! 😀

  4. leannenz says:

    Yes! if it was a mast with a sail he could attempt a dog leg jibe up wind. Actually not even sure if such a thing exists but it sounds a nice mix of nautical and canine! great picture.

  5. Lola Jane says:

    Great you captured this shot, Janet. The dog has ‘tude 🙂 .

    And yes, maybe the dog would not have been able to keep up with the biker / owner.

    Some dogs have separation anxiety… and I also know of dog owners who simply just like to take their pets just about everywhere. with them.

  6. Cee Neuner says:

    LOL. Adorable and oh so perfect for odd balls.

  7. Perfectly wonderful odd ball photo! 🙂

  8. Great shot. We took a dog we’re sitting to an outdoor concert last night and the fireworks were too much for her. Had to leave early. Too much heat and too much noise are not good for them, I learned!

    • Emilio, we had one of our foster dogs when July fourth rolled around. When fireworks started around the neighborhood, she first went under an end table and then later went into our half bath and lay under the sink. Poor thing! She looked so reproachful and afraid, but there wasn’t anything we could do.

      janet

  9. I hope he/she is doing better now. Actually, the heat and fireworks were too much for me, too and I was happy to leave early.

  10. Such a fun photo. Love the pole coming out of it’s back.

  11. Amy Reese says:

    The dog looks like he’s having a blast! Did you enjoy your trip to California? I see you did a bit of wine tasting. 🙂

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

