Cee’s Oddball Photo Challenge 2015, Week 29…Show me!

Posted: July 19, 2015 in Cee's Photo Challenges, Travel
Tags: , , ,

Last weekend, over a three-day period plus an hour Monday morning, my husband and a friend rode almost 200 miles of the nearly 238-mile Kady Trail that runs east and west (or west and east) across the Show Me state of Missouri. As the driver of the support vehicle, I had some time on my hands, as 60 miles a day on bicycles takes much longer to cover than a somewhat similar distance in a car. That means sight-seeing, tea drinking, reading, and photo taking. Here are three submissions for this week’s Oddball Photo Challenge from that trip.

Don’t ask and I won’t tell why I had my camera with me.

IMG_5287

These next two were taken in the town of Hermann, settled by Germans from Philadelphia in the early 1800’s. Anti-German sentiment during WWII and Prohibition, the latter deadly to this town in Missouri’s wine country, decimated the town.Ā  But it also left the charming buildings standing. These buildings, now housing shops, hotels, and restaurants, are part of what makes Hermann a destination for travelers. Hermann also produces a very tasty craft root beer.

IMG_5343

IMG_5428

Comments
  1. I bet the black pup is an eggs-pert for root beer… how cool that he has his own fireplug :o)

  2. Well…I think you hit the challenge. LOL I must admit I’ve never whipped out a camera in a bathroom but this photo did give me a chuckle. Hats off to your hubby and his bike riding abilities. šŸ™‚

  3. steveo says:

    I hope you found the wineries along the route? Nice selection of photos as usual. I’m not asking.

    • I didn’t realize there are so many wineries in Missouri. I didn’t really realize there were any, truth be told. But I came home with a few bottles as well as the craft root beer and consumed some tasty dark beer as well. As for the not asking, I’m pretty sure I sent back in with my camera, but the other possibility is more oddball.

  4. Cee Neuner says:

    I always take my camera to the bathroom with me when I’m on a photo shoot. I get some cool photos too. šŸ˜€ Great odd balls for this week. Have a great week Janet.

  5. Joanne says:

    Great captures! I’m in trouble with my 12-year-old for taking photos of the airport toilet paper but like your “Virgin White Paper”, there was a reason, lol! šŸ˜‰

  6. Such fun photos. I won’t ask about your camera. Lol.

  7. My wife would definitely wonder if I were to bring a camera into the bathroom with me. I can’t even bring my laptop in!

    • I’m pretty sure I brought the phone in just to take the photo, but as I carry my phone in a bag that slings across my shoulder, it goes with me quite a few places, even bathrooms.

      janet

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

