Sally D’s Mobile Photography Challenge: Nature…reflecting on nature

Posted: August 3, 2015 in Nature, Phoneography Challenge, Quotes
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Welcome back from vacation, Sally.  I hope it was a relaxing, wonderful time.  As impossible as it seems to me, it’s already August and as it’s the first Monday, the theme once again is “Nature.”  The vast majority of my photos come from times when I’m in nature, allowing it to refresh and rejuvenate me, so I have an embarrassment of riches when it comes to choosing a photo for the theme.

The best remedy for those who are afraid, lonely or unhappy is to go outside, somewhere where they can be quite alone with the heavens, nature and God. Because only then does one feel that all is as it should be and that God wishes to see people happy, amidst the simple beauty of nature. As longs as this exists, and it certainly always will, I know that then there will always be comfort for every sorrow, whatever the circumstances may be. And I firmly believe that nature brings solace in all troubles.
~Anne Frank, The Diary of a Young Girl

If Anne Frank, with all that she endured, could think and feel this, it’s well worth our time to spend time outside, away from the hustle and bustle of our everyday life, made even more so by the ease with which technology allows us to add to that load of “stuff.”

IMG_2988

There is a pleasure in the pathless woods,
There is a rapture on the lonely shore,
There is society, where none intrudes,
By the deep sea, and music in its roar:
I love not man the less, but Nature more
~George Gordon Byron

This next reflection was taken along the I&M Canal in Illinois, a wonderful place to bike or hike.  Take a moment to read about it and the importance it had to Chicago and to travel and trade in the US in general.  It’s a magical place to spend time.

DSC_0620-001

Live in each season as it passes; breathe the air, drink the drink, taste the fruit, and resign yourself to the influence of the earth.
~Henry David Thoreau, Walden

Comments
  1. Suzanne says:

    These are wonderful images. The first one is really magical.

  2. makingcamp says:

    Enjoyed the quotes with the pics.

  3. Janet, yes, it was a retreat with adventures and stellar memories. Thanks for welcoming me back to the blogging life. Your images evoke the relationship between human nature and Mother nature–the shallow and deeper reflections. Really lovely images. Happy Photo Challenge.

    • Thanks, Sally. I’m glad to hear you enjoyed your time away and I’m also glad you enjoyed the photos. I’d be lost without the time I spend in nature. It’s truly refreshing and renewing.

      janet

  4. lolaWi says:

    beautiful images! 🙂

  5. nowathome says:

    What an amazing reflection, Janet!!! Stunning!

  6. Angeline M says:

    The second photo is beautiful in its serenity.

    • Thanks, Angeline. What I like about that shot is that it’s difficult to tell what’s reflection and what’s not and then there’s the floating leaf. 🙂 Thanks for visiting and commenting.

      janet

  7. Lovely post. I just love reflections and these are fabulous and the quotes go so well with them.

  8. Very beautiful nature photography and lovely quotes. I really enjoyed this! 🙂

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

