Something old, something new

Posted: August 8, 2015 in Miscellaneous, Musings, Personal
Tags: , , , , ,

No, I’m not getting married again.  This is a little something I penned while sitting at a coffee shop in Pasadena earlier this summer, enjoying the ironies of the day (as well as the tea.)

I’m having tea in a large city in a majorly major metropolitan area, having arrived by bicycle in a car-driven society.  I carried in a plastic bag something old (school), a magazine, as well as a notebook (paper kind), in which I’m writing by hand with a pen, and a Kindle with which to also read, as well as a smart (most of the time) phone to use for messages and camera.  I think I’ve spanned more than a few decades!

What old school things do you still embrace in this era of technology?

Comments
  1. Sue says:

    Aha! I like my tech, but would rather be with people than endlessly contacting by device, I love books! The feel, the smell, the weight… I like a pen and paper for lists rather than an electronic reminder, a cooker not a microwave. And I have an old HiFi system that won’t play digital discs! Probably other things that aren’t coming to mind….

    • Sue, I definitely agree about being with people in person if at all possible…and with the phones firmly away so we can really talk. There’s endless debate about books vs. e-readers and I come firmly down on the side of both. I love and, in many ways, prefer books. But especially for travel, an e-reader is invaluable and my best friend. I take junk mail that’s blank on the back and make notepaper, then have a list for each day that’s easy to carry and pull out of my pocket. Never got into the list on the phone habit. Love pens!! We do have a microwave, but mostly for reheating. Nice to have options, but I don’t just take the new tech item because it’s new or touted.

      janet

  2. Dee Gilbert says:

    I like pens and notebooks, too.

  3. Su Leslie says:

    Books!! Like Sue I love real actual paper books. And I have a fountain pen which I use for lists and notes; I love the look and feel of ink. 🙂

    • Fountain pens are great, Su. I’m a book lover as well, but for travel, my Kindle is the best. How else could I carry a thousand or so books with me easily. 🙂

      janet

      • Su Leslie says:

        🙂 I “get” the sense of Kindles, but I guess I don’t travel for long enough periods of time that I can’t fit a couple of books in my luggage. I do tend to buy second-hand and then give them away when I’m done. Cheers, Su.

  4. slvrhawk2014 says:

    Books, those old fashioned black and white composition books, and my old fashioned mechanical pencil…cannot live without any of them!

  5. I really like cursive writing. I guess I spent my youth learning to do it well so why forget it. 🙂 I also like real books, but I realize I’m in the minority. My husband and I were eating at a restaurant a while back and there was a man at the bar with a book. It was so strange, I had to point it out. And, then I thought wow things have sure changed when a person in public with a book is odd. LOL I also don’t want to give up my MacBook Pro laptop, my Samsung Galaxy Note 4 smart phone, or my two tablets but I like them in moderation. I like to use them for their capabilities and not have them own my life. I also know I’m in the minority there too. LOL 🙂 As you can tell, Janet, I liked this post.

    • Judy, the point about having technology work for you, not rule your life, is the most important to me. It annoys me to see people sitting together…all on their phones/other electronic devices. It also annoys me when someone I’m with is doing that when we’re supposedly spending time together. I love books, even though I’m trying as hard as I can to pare down the amount I have–nowhere to put them except boxes and many I haven’t read for years. Very difficult for me to do, though. Thanks for chiming in and I’m happy you liked the post! Off to read a book while having some breakfast. 🙂

      janet

  6. Your bag sounds like mine. I always carry a notebook and my Kindle.

    • If I’m traveling, I’d have the Kindle. Otherwise, I tend to have whatever library book I’m currently reading. And I don’t usually use a plastic grocery bag, but that’s all I had on vacation that could be easily carried while riding a bike! 🙂

      janet

  7. Maggie C says:

    I recently purchased a cast iron Dutch oven to use in lieu of my crockpot. Still trying to get the hang of it, but everything I’ve made in it so far has been superb.

  8. Hi Janet, I’m a paper and pen person when it comes to writing a list, but I’d be pretty helpless on the big writing projects without ‘cut and paste.’ Interesting to think about.

  9. brainsnorts says:

    I keep a notebook in my car and one in my bag that I carry to work every day.

  10. Growing up my parents always had to have the newest gadgets available. Now their house is full of these gadgets that don’t work anymore. Me, I love new cameras but am not interested in the latest fads.

  11. nowathome says:

    I love technology, but I cannot do without a notebook. I love making lists!! 🙂

  12. happyface313 says:

    🙂 I like paper and pens! And I honestly prefer a book over some kind of electronic reader. I like the smell of paper and I like turning the pages.
    Have a very HAPPY week 🙂

  13. Leya says:

    Master Penman Jake Weidmann | HUMAN

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

