Weekly Photo Challenge: Monochromatic…naturally monochromatic

Posted: September 11, 2015 in Weekly Photo Challenge
Tags: , ,

At the Weekly Photo Challenge, Jen has set us an interesting challenge: to show a photo or photos in monochrome (or almost.) However, as her photos and words so well remind us, “mono” doesn’t necessarily mean black and white.  The two photos I offer today are naturally almost monochromatic, in the way Jen’s beautiful photos are.  Other than cropping, the addition of a frame, a/o copyright information, these photos are as they were when taken. The first was taken recently; the second a few years ago and is one of my “classics.”   I hope you enjoy both them and your weekend.  I’ll be doing a bit of traveling, visiting, and celebrating this weekend, so I may not catch up with you until next week.

copyright janet m. webb 2015

copyright janet m. webb 2013

Comments
  1. Cee Neuner says:

    Janet these photos are great!! 😀

  2. Joanne says:

    That second photo is DEFINITELY a classic, lol! 🙂

  3. These are wonderful….good examples on the prompt! 🙂

  4. Love, love, love the cart in the water. Safe but fun trip. 🙂

    • Thanks, Judy. Just about ready to leave for a very short pre-thirtyfirst anniversary trip. Should be fun. The cart photo happened when there was some very bad flooding in the Naperville area. This parking lot was in a low spot, so it was flooded, too. The cart seemed to me to encapsulate in one photo the entire flood experience.

      janet

  5. coolquilting says:

    I LOVE the shopping cart photo…

  6. Especially love the first photo, Janet. It is so natural.

  7. I love the seed pod and the amazing detail; it is such an amazing image.

  8. Beautiful shots! I especially like the second one, it’s so ethereal for some reason..

  9. bythebriny says:

    Both lovely…the flooded shopping cart is very cool.

  10. Amy says:

    Very cool, Janet! The shopping cart is a great shot. 🙂

  11. These photos are very interesting. I like your approach to this week’s challenge! I hope you had a great weekend 🙂

    /Maria

  12. I really like the first one a lot. I’m a fan of the sepia tones. I think the image becomes the focus. Janet, the framing on the first one and the entires are perfect. 😎

  13. solaner says:

    the shopping cart is great, Janet

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

