Sally D’s Mobile Photography Challenge: Challenger’s choice…duck, duck, no goose, duck

Posted: September 28, 2015 in Nature, Phoneography Challenge
Tags: , , , , ,

As September slides away into autumn, the fourth Monday rolls around, giving us “Challenger’s Choice“once again for our theme over on Sally’s blog and her mobile photography challenge.  When we visited Morton Arboretum no long ago to view the Lego exhibit, we also enjoyed a stroll through a marvelous children’s garden, which is where I caught up with this trio of relaxing birds. The noisy crowds obviously weren’t bothering them!

copyright janet m. webb 2015

Comments
  1. Suzanne says:

    What great resolution for a mobile phone photo.

  2. Holy Moly. What a wondershot.
    Randy

  3. They bring a sense of joy to my early morning. Can animals be happy? They certainly look content and relaxed: a trio of companions. Happy Photo Challenge.

  4. lolaWi says:

    lovely capture! 🙂

  5. I love this photo. The birds look like they are standing on a rock in the sky. Your colorful borders in your frames fascinate me. What app do you use for this effect?
    Ω

    • Allan, just about everything I do right now is on Picasa 3, which I have on my laptop. It’s free and I like it, although I need to start branching out a bit. But it has nice frame choices.

      janet

      • Thanks, Janet. I haven’t used that particular program. My go-to online app is Pixlr for headers and I do the majority of my image framing in Snapseed. We live and learn, if we’re lucky.
        Ω

      • I have Picasa on my laptop and all my photo files automatically upload to it when I put them on the laptop. Makes it easy to work with them and easy not to use something else, which is why I have to get in the habit of using some of my apps. My laptop’s a PC, but I have an iPhone and iPad, which is also fun. If Macs just weren’t so expensive…

      • I understand what you mean about the Mac$. I purchased an iMac last year before I retired and just love it. The Lioness uses a PC and we refer to ourselves as a Bi-terminal Couple (it fits here in Northern California).
        Ω

  6. Angeline M says:

    This looks like a painting! Really pretty. I’ll have to try Picasa 3, I use PicMonkey a lot now, so looks like I need to branch out and experiment.

  7. Such a sweet picture! 🙂

  8. Inger says:

    I can’t believe you got this one on you mobile phone – that is awesome:)

  9. Jill's Scene says:

    This is a great shot of the ducks – they seem oblivious to you! Whenever I approach birds they take off in the opposite direction!

    • These were in the children’s garden at Morton Arboretum, so I imagine they were used to lots of people. We were also on a walkway around the pond/lake, so they may realize through experience that people can’t get any closer. But I was still happy to get so close. 🙂

      janet

  10. nowathome says:

    Lovely capture Janet!

  11. Wonderful classic image.the frame makes it even more timeless.

  12. ChristineR says:

    Awesome photo, Janet. I’ve just discovered I have frames in Irfanview (free) software which I use on my PC. Your choice of frame adds a terrific 3D look.

  13. Fantastic portrait of the ducks. I like the colour you chose for the frame too.

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

