Farm to table, part 2

Posted: October 3, 2015 in Food, Miscellaneous
Tags: , , , ,

It’s Saturday morning and I’m not at the Naperville farmer’s market.  In fact, as this posts, I’m hopefully fast asleep.  Later today, I hope to be visiting a farmer’s market in Philadelphia, but in the meantime, here are the rest of the photos I promised on Thursday.  OK, there are some non-food photos here, but they’re still part of the market.

copyright janet m. webb

copyright janet m. webb 2015

copyright janet m. webb 2015

Some weeks, this man is at the market to sharpen whatever you have that needs sharpening.

copyright janet m. webb 2015

Local honey is good for helping to avoid allergies to whatever weeds are local.  There are also beeswax candles an other honey and beeswax-related products.  Sweet!  Do you have a farmer’s market near you?  If so, what do you like to buy there?

copyright janet m. webb 2015

Comments
  1. Looks like a great farmer’s market! I don’t have any close by. Enjoy the weekend.

  2. Dan Antion says:

    Beautiful photos. Enjoy the market. I’ve been there a couple of times when visiting the city. It’s a special treat.

  3. Wonderful shots but I LOVE the first one – purple and yellow are gorgeous together. 🙂 Hope you are having a great visit.

  4. Gorgeous colors in these photos. Well done Janet.
    Ω

  5. Lovely example of the essence of many farmer’s markets: seasonal fare. In my small town we have one on Sundays. Hope that you enjoy the one here on the East Coast.

  6. Maggie C says:

    Gorgeous photos! So many vibrant colors.

  7. Scott says:

    Excellent post.

  8. Honie Briggs says:

    Everyone else already gave the adjectives I was thinking as I scrolled through your spectacular photos. Gorgeous, Janet, just gorgeous. I love farmer’s markets. We have several small ones nearby, and it makes me feel good about the foods we eat when I can purchase them straight from growers within 100 miles of where we live. You can tell, especially ones whose kids work alongside them, that they put a lot of love into what they do.

    • I like buying directly, too, Honie. There are some things I find to be just too expensive but others that are well worth it. I’m encouraged to see the market scene growing.

      janet

  9. thirdeyemom says:

    What gorgeous pictures Janet!

  10. viveka says:

    Janet, what explosion of colors – it makes me so happy. We don’t market on Saturday … but nothing like this. I wouldn’t call it a farmers market.

  11. I do love walking through a farmers market, it is so much like breathing in real air…The photos are magnificent.

    • I miss the market when it closes, Charlie. When we lived in Cleveland, the market nearest us, the original one, only closed for a few Saturdays a year because they had a space indoors that they could rent. Although there wasn’t nearly as much produce during the winter, it was wonderful to have it. The market here closes mid-November and it’s such a long time until it reopens!

      janet

  12. Beautiful fall photos! Makes me miss fall in the Chicagoland area

  13. nowathome says:

    The flowers are just stunning!

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

