Sally D’s Mobile Photography Challenge: Macro…berry beautiful

Posted: October 12, 2015 in Phoneography Challenge
Tags: , ,

The colors of summer have faded in the park.  The vivid yellows have become mostly muted gold; only a few things purple and white, and even fewer yellow, remain.  In their wake have come the bright reds of these berries, as well as some of deep purple.  These red beauties remind me of my favorite holiday, one arriving quickly, yet one I’m not yet ready to celebrate.  To everything its season.  I enjoy their bright beauty each time I walk. On sunny days, they seem to almost glow, while on cloudy days, they bring brightness to the morning and cheer to my heart.

berries copyright janet m. webb 2015

Comments
  1. nowathome says:

    A stunning photo!!

  2. I agree that it is a hard adjustment to the visual landscape as autumn digs in her heels. Your image brings that burst of color that lingers from summer’s array of offerings. Happy Photo Challenge.

    • Autumn’s colors are a bit more fleeting for the most part. The leaves seem to vanish much to quickly and the rest of the plants are either fading or dead. The berries are so cheerful and make me think of Christmas as well. I don’t know if these are berries that birds eat or not. I haven’t noticed any birds feasting. But I do love the color.

      janet

    • Thanks, Cathy. I imagine the colors of the leaves out your way are getting quite beautiful. They’re just starting to turn here and they always go away much too quickly. Have a wonderful week.

      janet

  3. Nato says:

    Wonderful photo!

  4. Angeline M says:

    Definite pop of color! I love your composition, Janet.

  5. Beautiful color and clarity, Janet. Lovely!

  6. Roly Andrews says:

    love this shot – thanks for sharing. Are they Gooseberries – forgive my ignorance?

  7. Extraordinary! What I find so captivating about this image is that it’s curiously timeless. It could be taken at the height of summer, featuring some newly ripened, sweet berries at their peak, or just as easily in the fall, showing something more like cranberries before the harvest. I bet you could play with colors even more to skew those impressions one way or another.

  8. Tina Schell says:

    You are NOT fooling me with this one Janet – you sprayed those berries didn’t you?!?!?!? Great shot

  9. Janet, what a stunning shot!! Well done. I simply love it.

  10. Love the interesting perspective, makes such an eye catching image.

  11. I don’t know if these are edible berries, but they’re gorgeous! LOL! 🙂

    • Thanks! I think so too every time I see them. In a way, I hope they aren’t edible as they’ll be around a lot longer that way. I haven’t seen any birds eating them, so perhaps they’re simply decorative.

      janet

  12. FireBonnet says:

    Simply lovely! Yes the red and green remind me of the holiday to come! But I’m enjoying the colors of the holidays before it… Thanksgiving and Halloween

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

