Weekly Photo Challenge: (Extra)ordinary…ready to drop

Posted: October 16, 2015 in Nature, Weekly Photo Challenge
Tags: , , , ,

(Extra)ordinary” is this week’s theme and I’m tempted to ask if that means more ordinary than ordinary, ala the comment byNed Nederlander, Martin Short’s character in “The Three Amigos” that the notorious bandit El Guapo was “infamous” (pronounced by them with the accent on “in”), meaning that he was “more than famous.”

This week, Cheri asks us to find things like the examples she mentions here:

I’m drawn to creaky doors and tiled floors. Textured walls and abandoned objects on the street. Things or settings we might overlook at first glance. Whether in a new or familiar place, I try to keep my eyes open — to look for beauty or interestingness where I least expect it.

This is what I try to do with many of my photos: find beauty in things that people miss or things that aren’t usually appreciated.  Both shots are simply water on a berry, but I think they feel like much more.

droplet copyright janet m. webb 2015

droplet copyright janet m. webb 2015

Comments
  1. Sandra says:

    Extraordinary photos indeed Janet. 🙂 Have a nice weekend.

  2. Leya says:

    Extraordinary indeed – have a great weekend losing that tail!

  3. I love the color in the first photo. Extra Ordinary for sure.
    Ω

  4. Great photo by a photographer with extraordinary skills. 🙂

  5. Indira says:

    Amazing photos indeed. How did you manage this? You are a wonderful photographer.

  6. I was going to say get better, but thought some might assume I was talking about your photography. I’m not. I’m talking about your cold/flu. Your photography is great and what I really marvel at is your eye for detail and for noticing the ordinary things around you and, by your images, making of them something extra!. As for you cold…, how is that?

    • My cold’s getting much better, Emilio, with the exception of a few coughing fits brought on by a tickle and making me sounds as though I were dying. 🙂 I appreciate your comments about my photography. One of the things I’ve learned while walking is that I can look down, look out, or look up and I see/focus on very different things depending upon where I’m looking. I love trying to bring the beauty of ordinary or overlooked things to my blog readers, so I really do appreciate you letting me know I’m accomplishing that.

      janet

  7. Perfect. Well captured and taste

  8. viveka says:

    Janet, … beautiful .. raindrops are so exquisite and not easy to do justice … you truly does it with this image. Have a lovely weekend.

  9. Inger says:

    Awesome that you have been able to capture the water on the berry. Looks like it is just about to drop? 🙂

  10. Beautifully caught and captured Janet! You have a good photographer’s eye!

  11. Roly Andrews says:

    Love your photography and also your taste in movies –

    Dusty: “Do you have anything besides Mexican food?”

  12. Ruth says:

    I like your beautiful water droplets!

  13. Absolutely spectacular…You can pack a whole world into a single water drop.

  14. thirdeyemom says:

    Stunning as always Janet! You do capture such raw beauty in nature. I love these two photos. Thanks for always inspiring! 😉

  15. Connie T says:

    Beautiful picture.

  16. Those are stunning images 🙂

  17. Amy Reese says:

    It looks another world attached to that berry, Janet, and an Interesting perspective.

  18. Wonderful photographs. They remind me of the old masters’ oil paintings of water droplets on the petals of flowers.

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

