Sally’s Mobile Photography Challenge: Challenger’s choice…Travel: Hats off!

Posted: October 26, 2015 in Phoneography Challenge, Travel
Tags: , , , ,

In Philadelphia, there’s a vintage store that never seems to be open. But during this last trip, we found the door open and wandered into a store packed to the ceiling with, among other things, incredible women’s clothing, shoes, and hats, gorgeous, amazing hats!

This is quite a creation, but could be a bit tiring to wear for very long.  The owner told me it’s from the 1920’s cabaret scene.  Bring out your rhinestones and prepare to party!

hat copyright janet m. webb 2015

I would so wear this confection! I have a collection of hats that I wear when given the chance, but nothing like this.  Can’t you just see Audrey Hepburn sporting this beauty?

hat coypright janet m. webb 2015

To join the fun or just see what other people have shared, click here.

Comments
  1. colonialist says:

    I remember with nostalgia the era of hats for men and for women – the latter often quite outlandish but fun.
    Mind you, my mother never forgot the embarrassment of my young voice ringing across a crowded bus: ‘Look, mom, that lady’s got a hat just like our wastepaper basket!’

  2. I’m glad you returned to check again. 🙂

  3. Finally, you got to admire and scout through the store’s trove of goodies. I am drawn immediately to your second image. It has such vintage sensibilities. It has that stated and understated quality. But it is your composition that works so well. Happy Photo Challenge.

  4. Stylin’, smilin’ and profilin’—these hats are beautiful. I can definitely see Ms. Hepburn, and perhaps Roslyn Russell, sporting these fine chapeaus.
    Ω

  5. Your choices for color suggest another era/ Love # 1
    Happy Monday
    ~C

  6. Angeline M says:

    These are both fab! I love hats, but never wear them thinking I don’t look very good in them. You’ll need to show us some of your personal collection.

    • I love hats and wish I had more places to wear them, Angeline. I’ll have to see whether I’ve posted any photos of my hats before on the blog. (After 3 1/2 years of daily posts, it’s difficult to remember!)

      janet

  7. Suzanne says:

    What a wonderful discovery and what wonderful hats. So elegant and flamboyant

  8. This is a place I’d love to visit. I have hats. One, a gray, shaped with a veil, a lot like the one you photographed, another a black fedora from Mexico, and a white beaver from Texas Hatters with my name on the inside band! Hats.

    This was a great post. Thank you!

    • Two Janets with the same great taste. I have a grey, brimmed hat with a veil as well, plus a number of others, including several cowboy hats. There just aren’t enough opportunities to wear them, especially as I sing in praise team at church and so can’t really wear a hat on Sundays. I do wear one to holiday services, though.

      janet

  9. Excellence and elegance!! Well done!!! It looks like a photograph from a style magazine

  10. LavendarLadi says:

    Wow! What a great find! I’ll have to look for the store. Philadelphia is also on our list for possible anniversary trip destinations.

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

