Let there be light!

Posted: November 3, 2015 in PhotoRehab
Tags: , , , ,

This weekend, we ended Daylight Savings time.  Of course, the total number of light hours didn’t change, but they were certainly redistributed!  Now we have sunset at 4:46 pm, much earlier than I’d like.  Winter would be much more fun if there were more light hours in the day.  There’s something about cold AND dark that makes me feel much colder than the same temperature with light.

I’m usually taking my walk in the early morning hours, greeting “the dawn’s early light.”  Today I was enjoying the unseasonably warm weather in mid-afternoon.   The light is very different then.  But it still has the ability to lift my spirits even as it creates an entirely different look in nature.

A Facebook photo group I’m in is featuring light this week.  So I’m going to pull a few of my photos featuring light to share, hoping that they light your week while bringing pleasure to your soul.

copyright janet m. webb 2015

copyright janet m. webb 2015

copyright janet m. webb 2015

copyright janet m. webb 2015

Comments
  1. 2e0mca says:

    I love the spider’s web end the abstract quality of the last image (Echinacea flower heads I assume?) 🙂

  2. nowathome says:

    The last photo is stunning!! Love the lighting.

  3. Absolutely glorious. I’m exceedingly sensitive to and aware of light, so daylight savings time is always tough on me. Your beautiful photos give me hope that there’s more than just darkness in these colder months ahead, though!

  4. Su Leslie says:

    These are lovely Janet; especially the last one.

  5. Lisa says:

    great glowing light for this time of year – nice pics 🙂

  6. very nice. I liked the first because of the way the light illumines those lion’s tails; and the second shot makes me feel like I’m peeping ion on those berries.
    I see the light now – even if it is early.
    G-morning.
    Randy

    • Randy, those berries are a source of beauty every time go for a walk. As everything else turns to shades of brown, they stand out even more. The birds don’t seem to eat them, so I can keep enjoying them.

      Have a great Tuesday.

      janet

  7. Dan Antion says:

    I love the spider web. My photo folder is filled with failed shots of spider webs, I love looking at them.

    • Dan, I have lots of shots of spider webs as well. On those mornings when I’m out and there’s been dew or rain, they really stand out and each one looks possibly better then that last, so I just keep shooting. 🙂

      janet

  8. Norm 2.0 says:

    Another vote for the spider web – I just love that shot!

    • Thanks, Norm! One of the things that I like about them is that unless there’s light behind them or dew on them, the webs are invisible…unless you run into one, in which case you may not see it, but you certainly feel it! 🙂

      janet

  9. The golden solitude of the last photo really speaks to me. Great use of the light.
    Ω

  10. Wonderful captures, Janet. My faves are the first and third photos.

  11. Amy says:

    Wow, awesome captures! The first one is my fave. 🙂

  12. colonialist says:

    The light spray is amazing!

  13. Stunning use of light Janet. It is hard to choose a favourite.

  14. Tina Schell says:

    Particularly liked your last two shots Janet altho all are lovely. Have to agree w you about disliking the early-setting of the sun 😦

  15. Nato says:

    These are GREAT shots! Love them all.

  16. pike says:

    Beautiful light and colours!

  17. thirdeyemom says:

    Beautiful Janet! I hate daylight savings in the fall as I feel exhausted and ready for bed so early! Pretty soon I need to get my winter light out to put on in the mornings. It really helps and I do it every day until about February but I won’t start it until it is dark in the morning when I get up. I can’t imagine living in Alaska or Sweden and having hardly any sunlight in the winter. I think I’d go insane!

  18. pattisj says:

    I hadn’t seen the top photo yet. LOVE it!

  19. Amazing lights, Janet. This spider web is superb and so are all other photos as you composed them so well!

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

