Share Your World 2015, week 47

Posted: November 24, 2015 in Miscellaneous, Personal
Tags: , ,

I’m usually doing photography challenges with Cee and company, but this week for the first time, I’ve decided to participate in the “Share Your World” challenge.  Cee poses questions and we answer them.

In your native language which letter or character describes you best?  Why?

I hate to begin badly, but I really don’t know.  I’ve thought and thought about it, but I can’t come to a decision.

What is your greatest extravagance?

In terms of cost, my greatest extravagance to date would be travel.  However, books are what I buy the most often, at least until recently when I’ve been working hard to not buy any.  This is only because I have so many already.  Since I buy  almost all my books either at the library sale ($1 for hardcovers, $.50 for paperbacks) or at Half Price Books, it’s never a financial extravagance.  Photography is something I’ll be spending more money on soon, but I’m from a frugal family and I’m frugal, too.

Do you prefer exercising your mind or your body? How frequently do you do either?

Yes.  🙂 I like doing both.  I walk in the park usually three times a week and before I started working part time, I walked five mornings a week.  I try to lift weights three times a week as well, although I’ve gotten out of that habit.  I really enjoy lifting and I do stretching as well.  I also bought a rebounder and am using that daily for bone strength and density.  As for my mind, I try to exercise that daily!

List at least 5 things that makes you laugh.

Any of the Pink Panther movies, so that’s at least four or five there.  “Anguished English” and pretty much any other books by Richard Lederer.  “NCIS” makes me laugh every week. Word humor and the oddball things I see in the world around me (hence my enjoyment of the Oddball Photo Challenge) provoke daily laughter   Today, the beauty of the snow made me laugh for joy.

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

I’m grateful for time spent with my husband and that he has a good job. I’m grateful for the snow we got and the beauty that it brought. I’m grateful to sing alto with the praise team from our church and for our church family.  I’m grateful for the library and books and for being able to watch hockey on TV.  I’m also grateful that I blog and found such a great group of online friends. And yes, that’s all from last week, although it may also be most weeks.

I’m looking forward to traveling to my s-i-l’s for Thanksgiving.  I love road trips of almost any kind, we’ll have good company, good food, and good wine, and I won’t have any chores or work that has to be done, because I’ll be at someone else’s house!  That means I can just relax.

Comments
  1. I like road trips too and to visit someone you like and to have a good time makes every road trip extra special :o)=

  2. Vonita says:

    Lovely to read, thank you for sharing 🙂

  3. Cee Neuner says:

    You are right odd balls oftentimes makes me laugh too. And NCIS usually has some good laugh lines too!!! 😀

  4. Loved reading about you! Thanks for this post. But what is a rebounder? I’ve been exercising my knees (two separate motorcycle accidents when I was younger) so that I can get down for low angles in my photography and then, what’s more important, to get back up! Can’t lose the weight around my gut, though! So you sing alto? Ever sing along to the radio on your car trips? Or does your husband ask you not to? I sang in high school choir so Lynn is always asking me to sing but I refuse. I especially liked your list of what you are grateful for! You’re a special woman!

    • Emilio, a rebounder is like a mini trampoline that provides exercise without the stress to the joints. They’re also used by NASA for rebuilding bone density in astronauts after space voyages. I’m using my for that. Here’s a link: https://wiki.ezvid.com/best-rebounders?id=bng. I actually have the high-end one, based on recommendations by people who have rebounders. Even at $200, it’s an inexpensive investment when you consider the cost of most health and exercise equipment. I use mine while watching TV and really enjoy it.

      I do like to sing in the car. Bill doesn’t mind but our younger daughter never wanted anyone to sing along when she was in the car. She’s away now, so it doesn’t matter. 🙂 As for things for which to be grateful, there are so many, aren’t there? Thanks for taking the time to comment and I hope you and your wife have a wonderful Thanksgiving!

      janet

      • My wife has The Marcy Cardio (or the Sunny Health), which I just realized when checking out the link. But it has been sitting on our backyard patio collecting dust. Every couple of months she remembers its there and uses it for about 10 or 15 minutes.

      • For best health benefits, she might want to use it a bit more often. 🙂 You can trust me. I have my MA in teaching physical fitness and was a personal trainer for 16 years.

        janet

  5. Lovely post, and it is great to learn a bit more about you.

  6. Leya says:

    Thank you for letting us know a little more about you! Fun and interesting.

  7. reocochran says:

    Enjoy your sister in law’s for a re l axing and tasty Thanksgiving!

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

