Sally D’s Mobile Photography Challenge: Editing and Processing…editing nature

Posted: November 30, 2015 in Art, Nature, Phoneography Challenge
Tags: , , , ,

After a break for travel and fun, Sally’s back with her weekly mobile photo challenge, open to anyone taking shots with non-traditional cameras.  These days, a phone may be the “traditional” camera, but in this case, any device not sold as a camera would qualify.  Sally, I hope you enjoyed your much-deserved break, but I did miss having a set challenge last Monday.  However, I not only survived, but had a wonderful Thanksgiving.  What I really wonder is this?  How can it already by the end of November???  At least now I can officially be excited about getting ready for Christmas.  🙂

On to the editing.  In the pair of photos of the leaf with frost, the first shot is the original and all the editing I’ve done is the frame.  I didn’t even enhance the color, which I would normally have done.  The second is edited with DistressedFX, then framed in Picasa.

copyright janet m. webb 2015

copyright janet m. webb 2015

The first of the following set of three is the original and the next two are done in Glaze.  I still find the iPhone too small for me to feel comfortable editing on it, so I do the editing on my iPad, then send the photos to my laptop.  It’s fun to play around with editing, that’s for sure, but there are so many options and combinations that it could occupy me forever.

copyright janet m. webb 2015

I went for just a bit of Impressionism here, but much more out there for the second.

copyright janet m. webb 2015

 

copyright janet m. webb 2015

Comments
  1. leannenz says:

    I love those ice crystal leaves! This post and your wordless Wednesday post are th inspiration for #40 post on my Phot Blog – https://readerinspiredphotos.wordpress.com/
    It is scheduled for Dec 8th. Thanks Janet. Keep these lovely pictures coming, they bring delight to my day.

  2. Morning, Janet. Hope it was a nice Holiday weekend for you and the family.
    The originals are stand-alone outstanding shots without the editing.
    Nice work.
    Randy

  3. First, I had the most glorious and magnificent time; it was a very, very special occasion: an entire week of celebration. Your image shows the gusto of nature at a time of change. We haven’t had a hard frost, and your capture reminds me what we have missed: in its beauty and character. Happy Photo Challenge.

  4. Leya says:

    So much fun – and great results. The last one is very intriguing.

  5. I love the last edit, Janet. The colors and forms are quite powerful.
    Ω

  6. Angeline M says:

    Lovely images, Janet. I love both leaf photos, and I love the glazed image of the thistle. Editing photos can be so wonderfully relaxing and fun to create wonderful art.

  7. Wow, what an amazing photo series, I love the detail you captured.

  8. I do agree there are so many option for editing and it’s fun to play I am fascinated by the frost covered leaf the original is a wonderful capture for its purity.

  9. […] inspiration came courtesy of Janet of This That and the Other Thing.  I have put two separate links as Janet had two wonderful posts that made think of […]

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

