Weekly Photo Challenge: Oops…giving me the bird

Posted: December 11, 2015 in Nature, Weekly Photo Challenge
Tags: , ,

Oops” is this week’s theme for the Weekly Photo Challenge, a chance to share a disappointing moment, a photo that didn’t turn out as expected, or some other thing that made you think, “Oops.”  My photo chronicles a morning when I spotted a grey heron and six egrets in the river and all I had was my iPhone.  In order to get a really good photo, one that could be enlarged to good effect, I really needed my Nikon with the telephoto.  “Oops” may not have been the exact word that popped into my mind and while the photo isn’t in the same “oops” league as photos I’ve taken of my foot or unknown objects while not realizing it, it was more than a little frustrating.

copyright janet m. webb 2015

 

Comments
  1. Congratulations on making the best picture with the camera that you had. I, for one, like this photo.
    Ω

  2. Some our greatest achievements rise from oops moments…There is a lot to like in your photo.

  3. Dan Antion says:

    I like the photo. In fact, at first glance, I thought the ‘oops’ was referring the one bird that apparently landed at the wrong shore.

  4. Still a nice shot though. The reflections are great

  5. Well framed, nice reflection. Tells the whole story yea iPhone.

  6. […] This, that and the other thing Weekly Photo Challenge: Oops…giving me the bird […]

  7. That’s a frustration I know all too well! It’s hard to see everything going on in the frame, but it’s a skill to even see when the best part of your image isn’t the one you were focused on in the foreground. Nice save for this piece!

    • Hannah, this photo isn’t bad, but I would have like it to be so much more. However, the experience of seeing all these birds together was a wonderful one and there will be other days.

      janet

  8. pattisj says:

    I know that feeling all too well! I’m glad we can still see the birds!

    • Me, too, Patti. They just weren’t as sharp as I would have liked. But the experience was great anyway. When I’m exercise walking, carrying a large camera doesn’t work nearly as well.

      janet

  9. viveka says:

    I always forget to use my phone’s camera … some of the new smartphone provides excellent images, but I don’t like smartphones, so I don’t have one. I think you got a good result.

    • We have smartphones now and my favorite part is the camera. 🙂 The majority of the photos on my blog come from either an iPad (early on) or my phone, although I’m beginning to use my Nikon more now.

      janet

  10. Tina Schell says:

    Oh I know EXACTLY how you felt on this one Janet! I was trying to shoot something for an i-phone specific challenge one day and came upon a huge blue heron who had captured a giant fish and was holding him firmly in his beak. My best effort was horrific and I was REALLY ticked that I’d left my good camera and lens at home. ah well, i got a lousy i-photo but a great eye-photo 🙂

    • Tina, I had so many great eye-photos, rather than iPhotos, and my heart was full, so it was a win. There are days when I can barely stand the feeling of joy as I walk, observe, and photograph the park and/or its inhabitants in all it/their glory!

  11. kutukamus says:

    Ah yes, ‘the birds’—quite literally 🙂

  12. You need a 70-200 or 300 mm tele lense 🙂

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

