Thursday doors…Doors of the Franche-Comté

Posted: December 17, 2015 in Thursday doors
Tags: , , ,

I updated my “Blogs I Like” page earlier this week and found it a frustrating experience. Every time I made changes, then added another blog, the changes went away. There are times when I hate WordPress and I don’t like having inconsistent formatting.

However, I love the “Thursday Doors” challenge! I’m not sure how long Norm’s been hosting the challenge, but I’m sorry I missed it for so long. Sometimes we get a little creative with the meaning of the word “door”, but it’s all in good fun. Join if you like or just visit Norm’s site and click on the link box to see what doors everyone has chronicled.

These doors, with the rounded top, are typical of the Franche-Comté area of northeast France.  Although it appears the house and yard could use a bit of work, there’s still something quite attractive about them.

copyright janet m. webb 2014

 

Comments
  1. I agree with you, there are a lot of houses who have the special “it” :o)

    • 🙂 Hope you’re doing well and getting ready for Christmas without too much more drama. Our younger daughter comes home tonight, I work 9 hours today with a cold, and then it will get continually busier. But I do love Christmas. Just hoping I can shake this cold!!

      janet

  2. Love these doors. I really like how the wood lines up from small to large door. 🙂 I went back today and looked at your first month of posts and have to ask how your husband is doing – well I hope.

    • My first month of posts. That was some time ago, about when Bill had thyroid cancer, I guess. He’s doing well and still cancer-free. His job’s a bit stressful at time, but IT can be that was and we’re thankful he has a good job. Thanks so much for asking, Judy. I hope all’s well with you and yours as this Christmas rapidly approaches.

      janet

      • Glad he is doing well. We’re doing fine up here. The ski resorts are dying with no snow so far. For a state that relies on tourists, this is not a good thing as we end one year and start another. I never thought I’d be saying it, but I’m thinking white at least for the mountain areas.

      • I know exactly what you mean, Judy. In the mid-seventies after college, I spent two years in Steamboat Springs, Colorado. The first year there wasn’t the normal amount of snow and it was very hard on businesses!!

        janet

  3. Dan Antion says:

    Very nice doors. I like arched doorways and I like the mimicked style on the other door.

    • Good morning, Dan, and thanks. There are some very fancy and lovely doors in this style throughout the region. It’s enjoyable to see different styles for homes, windows, doors, etc.

      janet

  4. Norm 2.0 says:

    I like the simple yet elegant design of these. Nice one Janet. I’m glad you enjoy our Thursday door parties and that everyone seems to be having fun 😀

  5. bythebriny says:

    It’s quite lovely.

  6. dimlamp says:

    Interesting find, I too get frustrated sometimes with WordPress changes.

  7. joey says:

    Oh yeah, those are charming as all get out. I love them. Great contrast.

  8. jan says:

    They look like they could be barn doors! Quaint!

  9. I love looking at old European houses and villages, and there’s just something about doors and doorways that attracts me. We in the US seem to lack the sturdiness in structure that I saw so much over there.

  10. marianallen says:

    I love arched doorways, and I particularly love the detail at the top of this one. Wonderful choice!

  11. Tanveer Rauf says:

    Closed doors are mysterious, one doesn’t know what will happen when the door opens 🙂 what story lies behind the closed door- it is joy, gloom, fear, ghost or what 🙂

  12. litadoolan says:

    Thank you for this trip to North East France. It’s a corner of the world I would love to visit one day!

    • It’s a beautiful spot, that’s for sure, very different from Provence, where my s-i-l used to live. Both are lovely, albeit in very different ways. Thanks for visiting and commenting. I appreciate it and I’m glad you enjoyed it.

      janet

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

