It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas.

Posted: December 18, 2015 in Personal
Tags: , ,

I know.  It’s Friday and Photo Challenge time.  But today is part of our younger daughter’s present:  time together…lunch, hot chocolate, a manicure.  That means I won’t be around for a good part of the day.  Instead, I decided to share a bit of our Christmas with you.

Our tree isn’t up yet.  It will go up Saturday.  But I always do lots of decorating in the house.  Since the girls were little, we’ve had a small artificial tree, a nature tree.  Over the years, we’ve collected bird ornaments and other outdoor or animal ornaments.  Some of them are too big to fit on the tree, but just as in the forest, there are animals on the ground, some of our ornaments are in the snow surrounding our tree.

Here’s our newest owl, liberated from the sale table at Sur la Table a few nights ago.  He fits in just perfectly with everyone else.

copyright janet m. webb 2015

copyright janet m. webb 2015

Yes, that’s a pink flamingo, the only sort you’ll ever find around our house. No lawn ornaments here,but it’s rather cute on the tree.

copyright janet m. webb 2015

copyright janet m. webb 2015

copyright janet m. webb 2015

copyright janet m. webb 2015

Comments
  1. and it looks great! BRAVO!!!

    • Thanks! I hope all of you are having a good pre-Christmas time. I’m just reading a book that takes place in Brittany: Death in Brittany, by Jean-Luc Bannalec, translated from the French. Have you read it?

      janet

      • I have them all and I love his books. the crime stories are a “little lame”, but I’ve found so much interesting places in his books what are worth a visit :o) and he has a super way to describe people (specially those from paris lol)

      • I think this might be the first of his books to be translated into English, so I didn’t realize there were more. I’m only about halfway through this one, but it’s fun. And I thought of you immediately.

  2. Marie says:

    Wonderful idea and beautiful ornaments.

  3. I love your ‘Nature’ Christmas tree Janet!!!! 🙂

  4. I’ve never seen a ‘nature’ tree, Janet, and I am impressed. Beautiful. 🙂 Hope you had a wonderful day with your daughter.

  5. leannenz says:

    Beautiful family treasures and wonderful that you treasure some special time with your daughter! Looking forward to time with my niece when I head home for Christmas.

  6. Joanne says:

    Simply gorgeous! 🙂

  7. I love the owl. Your colorful borders really compliment the photos. Have fun with your tree tomorrow.
    Ω

  8. Lindy Le Coq says:

    Such fun! I love the little critters too.

  9. You have some amazing decorations. Love them all.

  10. So pretty – I don’t believe there is such a thing as a ‘non-pretty’ tree out there. Enjoy your mother/daughter day! 🙂

  11. It does look beautiful and creates such a wonderful feeling…Have a very merry Christmas.

  12. Awwh this was so touching! Totally in sync with the holiday spirit, so full of love and warmth !
    Hope you had a wonderful day out with your daughter. Much love your way Janet ❤

  13. nowathome says:

    You have a beautiful selection of decorations!

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

