I have bad news and I have good news.

Posted: December 29, 2015 in Musings, Personal
Tags: ,

The end of the day has come, I should be in bed, and I realize I have yet to write a post.  Today was to be the last day with our younger daughter.  We drove through pellets of ice and roads deep with slush to get her to the airport, only to find that her flight had been cancelled.  A long drive later through the same conditions brought us safely back home.

Bad news.  But there was good news as well.  We were only about a mile into our way back when she texted the information.  She has not appointments or “must do” things in the next two days, so the flight VERY early Wednesday morning will get her back without schedule problems.  She didn’t have to spend the night at the airport, she didn’t have to get a hotel room, she could come home with her family, to through more boxes of her things still at our house, and I could make her another bowl of popcorn tonight.

So many events in our lives seem bad and some, of course, really are.  But many have good that comes from them or aren’t as bad as they initially seem, as in our case today.  Look for those good things and you can change your perspective and your day, as well as that of those around you.

copyright janet m. webb 2015

Comments
  1. Dan Antion says:

    Enjoy the extra time with your daughter.

  2. Robin in New Jersey says:

    I understand, Janet. Bittersweet, I guess.

    • Robin, the only bad news is that she couldn’t get on her original flight (and that we’ll have to leave the house at 2:30 am tomorrow to get her to the airport!) I wish I weren’t working today so I could have more time with her, but so it goes. Pretty good overall, I’d say.

      janet

    • I’m pretty much positive, Rich, as was this whole episode. Not quite so thrilled that her flight Wednesday leaves at 5:30 am, meaning we’ll have to leave the house about 2:30 am! 🙂 I’m a morning person, but that’s a bit much!

      janet

  3. A wonderful reminder as I sit and watch the world turn white all around me. LOL 🙂

  4. I like the “cup full” philosophy. It’s best on everyone if we can see the positive in life’s twists and turns. Happy memories ahead for you and yours.

  5. bythebriny says:

    There’s always a silver lining, isn’t there? Best to you and yours in the new year.

  6. Jan Morrill says:

    I’m sure that was stressful for all of you, but it must have been serendipitous to have a little extra time, too! BTW, I use an app called FlightTrack that is pretty good for giving updates on flights. Hope that helps! Happy New Year!

    • Thanks, Jan. We get updates from Southwest, but I think they tried for as long as possible to get the flights out. I’ll check that app, though.

      Happy New Year to you and Steve as well.

      janet

  7. How lovely to have some ‘bonus time’ with your daughter! I love when that happens 🙂

  8. Enjoy the extra time with your daughter – such a blessing.

  9. happyface313 says:

    🙂 There is always a good to a bad – right? Enjoy the time together!
    HAPPY Holidays 🙂

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

