Today on Facebook I’ve seen a number of posts about animals, many of which advocate treating animals well, a sentiment I heartily share.  The same day also shows me posts and memes vilifying various groups of people or individuals, usually based on their beliefs, and nasty a/o foul-mouthed comments about some of these same groups or causes.  Disclaimer:  please note that I am NOT referring to any specific group or cause!!

It’s a popular notion that the way you treat animals shows how you treat people, but I’m afraid that isn’t true.  As much as I love animals and as much as I believe in their ability to love and help people, they are NOT people.  If you can treat animals well, but you’re full of hatred for humans, especially based on their beliefs, then I think you need to take a good look at yourself.  Here’s what I think is a truism, my own saying about how to treat people and animals.

I’d like to see people treated as well as we think we should treat animals and then animals treated as well as we start treating people.

I think that if we started going this, the world would be a much kinder, gentler place.

Et vous?

Comments
  1. Su Leslie says:

    A really important point Janet; really well put.

    • Thanks, Su. As much as I love animals, I worry that a certain number of people are more concerned with how we treat them than how we treat people.

      • Su Leslie says:

        I agree. And I can’t understand the thinking that allows someone to be outraged at the suffering of one while ignoring — or worse condoning — the brutal treatment of the other.

  2. The Golden Rule of people and horse flesh:

    Do unto others as you would have others do unto you
    and then do it unto animals, too.

    or

    Do unto others and animals as you have them do unto you.

    or as Nike would say:
    just do it.

    I would add (and I think you would agree): just do it, nicely.

    Randy

  3. I agree. There have been a few instances of dogs attacking people. Usually they are guard dogs. But often have we heard that the dogs have never done that before. I would imagine that there is always something there that made the dog snap.

  4. thirdeyemom says:

    Right on Janet. I am continually dismayed by how rude people can be! Sometimes when I witness someone being very unpleasant to another person (both strangers) I interfere. Practicing kindness and respect for all human beings is the way we should all live. I think people who don’t are sadly very unhappy with their lives.

  5. reocochran says:

    I agree and if we have to choose, send food and bottled water to children everywhere. 🙂

  6. Picture me standing on a chair clapping my hands as loud as I can. This should be on the news or painted on the side of a building or pulled behind an airplane. The only problem is that the people who need the message might not recognize that it was being sent to them for review. Thank you for stopping and taking the time to remind us of something very important. 🙂

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

