Weekly Photo Challenge: Weight(less)…Hmmmm

Posted: January 8, 2016 in Weekly Photo Challenge
Tags: , , , , ,

Overall, I enjoy WordPress and find it easy to use.  Recently, I’ve noticed a tendency while typing my posts, for my cursor to suddenly disappear  (about six times so far in this short missive), only to appear in the “tag” section of the set-up window.  (Up to about ten times now.)  Consequently, I find my tags gone when I preview my post or find incomprehensible bits of “writing.”  WordPress also likes to get rid of spacing each time I make a change to my post.  Those two things alone are enough to completely frustrate me!!

However, today’s theme for the Photo Challenge is “Weight(less)“, so on to that.  A hummingbird appears weightless as it sucks the nectar from a flower, although its wings make a sound like a small jet, or perhaps it’s simply superb at balancing on its beak in a flower.   This bird was enjoying the warmth of the Phoenix Botanical Gardens while having a sweet smoothie.

copyright janet m. webb 2015

 

Comments
  1. Great capture! Congratulation and it has Christmas colors. Wow!

  2. Laura says:

    Hummingbirds are amazing. Great choice for the photo challenge 🙂

  3. Such a stunning capture

  4. a hummingbird is THE symbol of weightlessness and speed! a splendid shot and idea for today’s theme!
    (and happy New Year, Janet! Enjoy it all!)

  5. Paula says:

    :O How could I not enjoy it! This is fabulous. The way he stuck his beak into the flower, What a glorious capture! 🙂

  6. I am soo glad I did not post my sad hummingbird photo! This is a stunning picture Janet! Love it!

  7. Sandra says:

    Not having that problem with WordPress, Janet. Lots of others, of course. 🙂 Love that bird, hovering beautifully.

  8. Amy says:

    What an amazing capture, Janet!

    • I was excited myself to see how it turned out. Sometimes I think I have a great photo and it’s (choose one or more): out of focus, too dark, too light, just at the moment after the shot I wanted. 🙂

  9. Amazing photo of something that quick. Beautiful. 🙂 I haven’t had those particular issues with WordPress yet, but the comments I receive still won’t link back to the comment and only go to the post. The first of December I changed the color of the header text which I’ve done numerous times. The end of December I went to change it back to black but there was the problem – that option had disappeared. After pleading for help on several forums and comment sections, they created a link so I could go back to an old admin page and change it back. So far, that option hasn’t been brought forward with the updates. Hmmmm.

    • I think WP is mostly (or completely?) run by volunteers, so I understand and overall, they do a great job. But I find it frustrating to not be able to contact anyone very easily with a question. Ahh, well, it’s free except for the $20 I’m paying for extra space, so I can’t really complain. But wait! I did complain. 🙂

      janet

  10. bythebriny says:

    Very nice capture. Hummingbirds are so tricky!

  11. Tori says:

    I’ve only had luck enough to capture one hummingbird so far… and from a distance. This is so wonderful! Beautiful shot!

    • I’m happy that you liked the shot so much, Tori. Hummingbirds are so beautiful, aren’t they? It makes me happy just to see them. There was one this summer that kept coming around our butterfly bush, which is right outside our big living room window. But every time I went for my camera, even slowly, it was gone when I got back. 😦

      janet

  12. KevvyR says:

    Great shot! Love the vibrance!

  13. jan says:

    Lovely picture! I’m always amazed by people who can capture a picture of a hummingbird.

  14. Lena says:

    Great photo! A really good “catch”

  15. A superb action shot of a moment, Janet. Hummingbirds are such amazingly agile flyers – love this shot with it’s beak buried so deep within the flower tube. Neat – it shows off the built for purpose bill 🙂

  16. pattisj says:

    Good choice for this! Ugh, that’s so frustrating when you think you have the spacing right, but it’s not.

    • The frustrating thing, Patti, is that on the visual part of the post it looks fine, but when I save it and see the post, it’s not the way the visual looks. Even when I “fix” it with HTML (the infinitesimal amount I know), and it’s fine as a post, if I got in to change something else, it will revert to the “unfixed” version, even though I didn’t nothing with any of the fixes.

      Glad you liked the photo, though. 🙂

      janet

  17. Oh wow, this is a sensational choice of photograph for the challenge, I’m in awe of the beauty. So impressive Janet! 🙂

  18. nowathome says:

    A gorgeous photo!!!

  19. Great photo to have captured the bird suspended.

  20. […] This, that and the other thing Weekly Photo Challenge: Weight(less)…Hmmmm […]

  21. thirdeyemom says:

    That is quite a capture Janet! Hummingbirds are so fast and they are one of my favorite birds. To catch it in midair is quite a feat. 🙂

  22. Great capture! I found it challenging to take pictures of birds. This is weight(less) indeed. Have a wonderful weekend!

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

