Sally D’s Mobile Photography Challenge: Macro…almost spent

Posted: January 11, 2016 in Nature, Phoneography Challenge
Tags: , , ,

Macro“, my favorite of all Sally’s challenges.  This dandelion is almost done spreading its seeds, thankfully not in my yard, as it’s in the park. A weed is, by definition, something you don’t want where it wants to grow (okay, not Webster’s definition, but certainly a working definition.)  In the mountains of Wyoming, a dandelion is just another wild flower.  In the yard of our neighbors in Cleveland, the thousands (yes, literally) of dandelions were a danger to my yard. Dandelion plants take too much of the grasses area to be allowed and they have a nasty way of spreading rather rapidly!

When we first moved into our house, I tried to dig out all the weeds, including dandelions, by hand.  But every morning, there were more, including in the area I’d dug out the day before.  I offered our younger daughter one cent per dandelion head she picked…in our neighbor’s yard…to keep them from spreading seeds in our yard. After $10, I quit.  I thought it would make sense to pay a lawn service to spray her yard, but of course I never did. We used a lawn service for a few years to get things under control. After that, I dug everything by hand.

This almost-spent dandelion does have an unearthly beauty, especially as it’s nowhere near my lawn.

© janet m. webb 2015

 

Comments
  1. Suzanne says:

    I love this photo Janet. It is quite mesmerising.

  2. Su Leslie says:

    Yes; mesmerising is the right word.

  3. This is a very special photo, Janet. The composition firstly, is excellent. My eyes were led all the way around the photo. Second, the delicate textures on the white feathery tips are so pure and fragile looking. Then there the finalstroke of genius: the complementartý colour scheme that was added!

    • Amanda, I must admit that cropping created the composition, but that’s all part of the process, isn’t it. I’m pleased you enjoyed the photo so much. Thanks.

      janet

      • I did the same in this week’s challenge for Sally’s feature. With my chosen photo, I had to be careful not to enlarge too much, but agree it is all part of the process. Nicely done, Janet!

  4. That’s a particularly intriguing capture of the dandelion–the wildflower that plagues us all. It looks like a different variety than ours in the Mid Atlantic. Your image seems to be saying that it’s about to spread more of its seeds. It’s persistence is commendable. As children learn, they’re lovely to watch as the wind or humans assist in the spread of the seeds. My son and I dig them by hand as you have done. The are relentless, but many people eat the greens. I’ve always turned as much of my landscape into gardens and that keeps the dandelions under control. This year a number of new “wildflowers” appeared and are just as relentless. Happy Photo Challenge.

    • Sally, some of the most beautiful plants are the “invasive species.” We’re in a rental house, so we can’t do much with the landscaping and I wouldn’t eat the greens when I live near people who have their lawns sprayed.

      I’ve always loved blowing the fluff (seeds), but now that I’m an adult, I think about the fact that I’m spreading them to someone else’s yard and it dims my pleasure just slightly. 🙂

      janet

  5. A funny story (now) and a wonderful photo. Considering the background, your composition makes the photo much more artistic than a “documentary” closeup image ever could. As always, your choice of frames really compliment your image. Have a great week.
    Ω

  6. Fireworks or a ferris wheel? Weeds, really? beautiful

  7. Brilliant macro – we have a lot of dandelions here too. I am always on the hunt for good ones.

  8. prior2001 says:

    wow – I really love the textures – kind of made the hair on my neck stand up – wonder why!

  9. love this image, Janet! It’s so magical. I’ve missed you at FF; hope you’re back at some point! Happy New Year!

    • Good morning, Dawn. Glad you liked the photo. I miss FF, but I don’t miss the time it took me to read all the stories. One of these days, I imagine I’ll be back, but for right now, I’m busy enough.

      janet

      • Agree, that gets challenging. I can’t and don’t read them all. I try to read writers who I’ve gotten to know/like, others who read mine, but feel badly that I can’t get to them all. You’re smart, Janet… I”m addicted to the challenge. 😉

      • I was, too, Dawn, but as I blog every day and now that I’m working part time (most of last year), I don’t want to be on the internet all the time. It’s “bad” enough with all the photo challenges I do, so I have to cut back somewhere.

        janet

  10. nowathome says:

    What a beautiful macro of the dandelion !! Love the detail!

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

