Thursday doors…Japanese doors

Posted: January 14, 2016 in Thursday doors
Tags: , , , ,

Alas, I’ve never been to Japan, although our younger daughter has and highly recommends it.  These shoji doors are found, complete with accompanying house, in the Philadelphia Museum of Art.  The house provides an island of simplicity in a museum filled with lovely, but often ornate things, and a sense of palpable peace.  We were fortunate to visit when there weren’t many people, so I was able to stand quietly for a few moments and imagine that my house were this empty and restful.  Although our house is often restful, it will never be this empty while I continue to own books or use the library.  🙂

However, you may enjoy this moment of virtual peace and transport yourself for a few brief moments to Japan.  Tempura, sushi, donburi, and green tea will be served shortly. Konnichiwa. こんにちは.

© janet m. webb 2012

More doors may be found on Norm’s site. So much fun!

Comments
  1. Dan Antion says:

    Delicate and quiet looking. Nice choice.

  2. I love the simplicity and sense of peace that you get from the design.

  3. Thanks for sharing – peaceful for sure! I have never been to Japan either, and though I would love to see the architecture and landscape there I’m not sure I could survive the food 🙂

  4. Norm 2.0 says:

    Right in the museum? That’s not something you see every day.
    A nice peaceful choice 🙂

  5. jan says:

    I wonder if they have tea ceremonies!

  6. LindaGHill says:

    These types of doors are lovely, but as I found out they’re not much good for keeping the cold of a hallway out of your room in December.
    Beautiful photo. 🙂 Thank you for taking me back.

  7. jesh stg says:

    Th Japanese doors are very functional, in contrast with some of the artistic things they display!

  8. Geert Smits says:

    Nice doors, Japanse doors. Love them 😉

  9. pommepal says:

    Tranquil and beautiful composition with the leaves framing the tea house.

  10. leannenz says:

    As you know, a place close to my heart!

  11. Now this post brings a whole new element. Love it. 🙂

  12. I always thought the shoji doors were so beautiful as they would let so much light in. Impractical in cold weather tho.

  13. A wonderful lesson in beauty and simplicity Janet! I always find the oriental cultures so fascinating for their different take on so many things, even the fact of doors that slide instead of hinge!

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

