Cold water creek

Posted: January 22, 2016 in Nature, Poetry
Tags: ,

© janet m. webb 2015

River runs fast and dark
singing its rushing water song
innumerable choruses
of the same mesmerizing melody

scratches at the edges
of its icy beard
all the while chuckling.

Does it dream of summer
or simply delight
in its cold journey?

© janet m. webb 2015

Today I leave for a visit to Arizona to see my parents.  They don’t have internet, or a computer, so I have to go to the library or a coffee shop to get connected.  Consequently, I’ll be offline most of the time for the next ten days.  Thanks for understanding if I don’t get to your blog quite as often.  Just doing posts and responding to comments takes all the time not spent culling emails!

Comments
  1. nowathome says:

    Have a wonderful time, Janet!!

  2. pommepal says:

    Enjoy your time with your parents Janet, we will still be here when you get back.

  3. Have a Happy, fun and Safe trip. Please send warm weather to New York. It’s going to snow today. 🙂 LOL!!

    • You’re supposed to get a lot of snow from what I’ve heard and so many flights cancelled. Fortunately, I made it out without any problems. Trying to send you some warmth. Let me know if it arrives intact.

      janet

  4. This is a beautiful poem, Janet. And I love the pictures. Are they photos that you’ve edited to look like paintings, or are they paintings that you’ve done?

    • They’re photos, Sandra. For some reason, my iPhone/iPad sometimes takes a photo that looks like the first shot, more like a painting, even though I didn’t do anything. Ahh, well, it worked her and I’m glad you liked the poem as well.

      janet

  5. thirdeyemom says:

    Beautiful Janet! Have a wonderful time in Arizona! Enjoy the sunshine! 🙂

    • Thanks, Raewyn. I generally spent one hour or so at the library (or a Starbucks) every day, frantically deleting email and taking minimal care of the blog. 🙂 Sort of fun not to be online much for a bit.

      janet

  6. You have really done a wonderful job of fusing your thoughts and your images.

  7. Inger says:

    Makes me wanna go outside right now! 🙂

  8. Tina Schell says:

    You picked a perfect time to get away from the storms Janet! Have a great visit. Loved your photos this week – as well as the prose.

    • Thanks, Tina. Yes, it was a good time to get away, even though the Chicago area isn’t really involved. Looks as though you’re impacted even as far south (relatively) as you are. Stay warm!

      janet

  9. pattisj says:

    That does look cold! Have fun!

  10. Enjoy your time in AZ, Janet! I’m sure you will have amazing photos when you come back!!

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

