Sally D’s Mobile Photography Challenge: Challenger’s Choice…a woolly bear

Posted: January 25, 2016 in Nature, Phoneography Challenge
Tags: , , , , , ,

It’s the Monday of the month when we get to choose what to share on Sally’s challenge.  I’ve gone with “Animals” this month, although probably not the sort you expected to see.

When we lived in Cleveland, meteorologist  Dick Goddard created the Woollybear Festival, which included caterpillar races.  I guess you don’t have to worry about missing the finish!  Folklore says that the size of the middle stripe of a woolly bear tells you whether or not it will be a hard winter.  Supposedly a thin strip means a rough winter.  It appears the woolly bear we came across, fortunately not literally, in the park predicted a mild winter.  I’m guess he meant as far as snow is concerned.  -15F wind chill doesn’t strike me as mild.  However, I’m in Arizona this week, so maybe he was prescient.

© janet m. webb 2015

Comments
  1. Tish Farrell says:

    What a hairy critter!

  2. LavendarLadi says:

    In the middle of winter, this is a lovely surprise. Thank you.

  3. I adore these small creatures. As you point out, they are signs of the impending season. Actually, didn’t see any this autumn. But you had such a sweet gift to sight one. We dug out yesterday from a 20-inch snowfall. Now I’m ready for Spring. Happy Photo Challenge.

  4. Great photo this week, Janet. Is this related to the infamous Wooly Bully?
    Ω

  5. Dan Antion says:

    Looks like he’s expecting a fairly mild winter (if I have that folk lore right).

  6. Charming critter,Good for you for leaving town. -15 hard to imagine…

    • Carol, the timing was just lucky. I’ve had the trip scheduled for some time and it had warmed up a bit before I left. But as much as I enjoy winter and snow, I’m enjoying the break.

      janet

  7. jan says:

    Cute critter! Those wind chill factors don’t seem mild to me either!

  8. bythebriny says:

    Interesting caterpillar! I’d never heard of a woolly bear before.

  9. Temperatures below zero would be what your expect in International Falls in Minnesota, I’m not convinced your system is very accurate.

  10. thirdeyemom says:

    Hope you are enjoying some sunshine and warmth Janet in AZ! 🙂

  11. Indira says:

    It gives me jitters.

  12. Makes me want to sing “Wooly Bully” Cute story and good image.
    It’s been warm here in CA too.

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

