Thursday Doors…ein deutscher Tür

Posted: January 28, 2016 in Thursday doors
Tags: , , ,

From Arizona, I’m taking a quick journey back to Germany for this church door.  Isn’t virtual time travel great?  And now back to my warm, sunny visit.  If I don’t get to your Thursday Doors entry this week, please forgive me.  I’m spending as little time online as possible and as much with family and nature as I can.  Hopefully you’ll reap the photographic rewards soon.  🙂

 

© janet m. webb 2014

Comments
  1. litadoolan says:

    Doors tell such a great story about the history of the building – super choice – it makes me wonder about all the happy moments that have been shared here!

  2. Dan Antion says:

    This is such a handsome door. I love that you gave us such a close up view. I really like seeing the molding detail to accommodate the overlay strip in the center. The hinges are beautiful and the aging on the door tells a story of long service. Great choice!

  3. That is one stout looking door. It conjures up visions of Martin Luther.
    Ω

  4. Sue says:

    What a solid old door!

  5. vbholmes says:

    What a fabulous choice you’ve made for your entry. Sturdy, no-nonsence planks provide the perfect foil for the spectacular ironwork and even a little mystery in the small windows at the top (light providers or very high openings to preview visitors?). It would be interesting to know a little of the history witnessed by these doors.

  6. Norm 2.0 says:

    Very sturdy reassuring doors and I love hinges too.

  7. jan says:

    Nice! Sometimes you need to away from social media and spend time with family! Enjoy!

  8. I do love the ironwork on this door – so beautiful

  9. jesh stg says:

    Wow, definitely German crafted! Can’t remember I told you that I lived in Berlin (when it was W-Berlin!) for a year, and our first daughter was born there …

  10. Those hinges…… fantastic.

  11. Magnificent door, love the wood, glass, and metal detail.

  12. pommepal says:

    Beautiful hinges really enhance the sturdiness of the door.

  13. Kerry S. says:

    Enjoy your family and nature time. They’ll both provide great material for your blog when you do return. Xx

  14. I too love those hinges! Great door today!

  15. That’s a splendid hunk of a door Janet! Hinges to die for!

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

