Weekly Photo Challenge: Vibrant…glass

Posted: January 30, 2016 in Weekly Photo Challenge
Tags: , , , , , ,

What a great time to have a theme of “Vibrant!”  In the northern hemisphere, we’re yearning for color, while our friends and family in the southern have color to share.  I’m going back to an earlier trip to Arizona, when I was fortunate enough to see an installation of Dale Chihuly’s work at the Phoenix Desert Botanical Gardens.  There was a surfeit of vibrant colors and I’m going to share more than one, as I can never decide which I like the most.

I’m in my last several days of this year’s trip to Arizona, with only about an hour of internet per day, so please excuse my absence this week on your blogs.  I’ll do better next week when I’m back in the winter of the midwest.

© janet m. webb 2014

© janet m. webb 2014

© janet m. webb 2014

Comments
  1. Lena says:

    Love this post! I am so fond of glass art. This is lovely!

  2. Perfect for us in grey wet. His work is the definition of vibrant.

  3. katieprior says:

    Stunning artwork and beautiful photos! 😀

  4. Norm 2.0 says:

    As soon as I saw this challenge yesterday I knew there’d be some Chilhuly showing up somewhere. His work so fits that description. Excellent captures.

  5. macmsue says:

    Absolutely stunning.

  6. nowathome says:

    Lovely! I also posted some glass!

  7. Sandra says:

    Great choices, Janet. Have a good weekend.

    • Thanks to both, Sandra. Today, besides packing, we’ve been looking at slides of when I was little. SO much fun, even though a number of them are too dark to enjoy. Great memories!!

      janet

  8. Wonderful examples of the topic, Janet. I like the deep orange and yellow of the first one.
    Ω

  9. thirdeyemom says:

    Oh color color color how I miss you! I love his work too. Great post Janet!

  10. Laura says:

    Super colors, textures and shapes!

  11. ledrakenoir says:

    Excellent work here, Janet – the last one just love it… 🙂

  12. Cee Neuner says:

    I just added some Chiluly glass too. I just love it. 😀

  13. Lindy Le Coq says:

    Lovely, and I understand how hard it would be to choose only one!

  14. […] This, that and the other thing Weekly Photo Challenge: Vibrant…glass […]

  15. jan says:

    I saw an exhibit of his work at the Bellagio in Vegas many years back – quite amazing! Have a fun trip!

  16. All are perfect for this week’s prompt but I think my favourite is the boat in the grasses. It so pleasantly unexpected!

  17. Chihuly in the Desert Botanical Gardens? Wow. What a marriage of beauty.

  18. Good shots for this challenge, Janet.

  19. pommepal says:

    Fantastic I love Dale Chihuly’s vibrant glass master pieces

  20. vbholmes says:

    Gorgeous photos, Janet, of spectacular works. It’s hard to avoid sensory overload when viewing his installations.

  21. Tina Schell says:

    Isn’t it amazing that the instant you see one of his works its immediately recognizable? Beautiful glass beautifully shot. Great choice Janet!

    • Thanks very much, Tina. After we’d seen the first exhibit in Akron, we were at the White House and I spotted a glass Christmas tree. I immediately knew it was a Chihuly. I’ve also seen some in Kew Gardens.

  22. […] This, that and the other thing Weekly Photo Challenge: Vibrant…glass […]

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

