COB Photo Challege 2016, Week 5…Vitamin C

Posted: January 31, 2016 in Cee's Photo Challenges
Tags: , , , ,

My last half day in sunny, warm Arizona.  This evening, Sunday, it’s back to whatever Midwest winter weather the Chicago area has to offer.  Vitamin C is especially good in winter to help keep away those colds, so here’s some I found near the Goodwill store just the other day.  Mind you, I’d wash them both before peeling.  Cee, it you’re willing to link me once more, I’ll also send you a bag of virtual lemons picked fresh from a nearby tree.  Thanks!  Here’s the link for the Oddball Challenge.

© janet m. webb 2016

Comments
  1. Su Leslie says:

    🙂 hope the weather’s not too bad when you get home. Su

  2. Beautiful colors to carry you through the rest of the Winter months.
    Ω

  3. Dan Antion says:

    Love those colors. My vitamin C is in pill form these days.

    • That works, too, Dan. But I love the freshness of citrus itself. I have about ten large lemons in my carry-on for the trip back to Chicago, picked from a tree down the street from my parents’ (with permission.)

      janet

  4. The citrus growing here in coastal Georgia gets us through the cooler months for sure! Lovely photo an orange and a lemon – very vibrant!

  5. prior2001 says:

    cool shot of the fruit on the curb!
    and one of my favorite health gurus suggests to wash all fruit TWICE in “hot water” – and I like that because it keep sit simple- so many people use sprays and enzyme things – when I think at the end of the day a hot water wash might seem too simple – but is quite effective. .

  6. julieallyn says:

    So very timely. I tried a new recipe today courtesy of The Moosewood Cookbook: Savory Fruit-Stuffed Squash with Orange-Ginger Sauce. It incorporated orange slices (OK – I cheated a little and used Cuties instead) and grated orange peel as well as chopped onion, chopped apples and minced garlic as the key ingredients for stuffing the squash. Luckily, my sous chef (aka Husband) was on hand to help with the prep work. HA!

    I love the simplicity – and colors! – of your photo!

    • Julie, how did you like the recipe? I like to do acorn squash stuffed with apple slices and topped with either brown sugar or honey and some butter. I put in a bit of Morningstar sausage at the end for a savory taste. So good!

      janet

      • julieallyn says:

        Ooh. Sausage! That sounds good. It wasn’t too bad but was a lot of prep time. Admittedly, though, I should have chopped up everything first. Would have been less harried. Normally, I make acorn squash with 2 TBS butter, 2 TBS brown sugar and 2 TBS real maple syrup. Yum!!

  7. Cee Neuner says:

    So nice and bright. Wonderful 😀

  8. thirdeyemom says:

    Love this Janet! I don’t know about Chicago but this weekend has been absolutely gorgeous! It is Spring Fever today with the sun beaming down, the birds singing and highs in the upper 30s which to us now feels balmy! Hope you had a nice time in AZ!

  9. pommepal says:

    I never go without vitamin c and this is the very best way to get it.

  10. de Wets Wild says:

    Loved the bright colours against the drab slab!

  11. Stunning! Might want to delay your trip back after checking weather report!! Be safe.

    • Too late, Janet. I’m already home. 🙂 It’s 35, on the way to 41, sunny and lovely. I have to spend most of the day inside anyway, so I’m good. It was a wonderful trip and I’m thankful to have a great home to which to return.

      janet

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

